Reflections and shadows

A few days ago I saw a post that I liked, both the photos and the idea that the author of that post had. He got inspiration by walking through a cemetery and seeing himself in the reflection of some mausoleums that contained glass. He took self-portrait photos, very good ones. Of course he did, he is a professional photographer.

I will not tag Dimas, not to bother him and interrupt his family trip, but I affirm that the inspiration for my post came from his work. Well, it is just the inspiration that came as I can't and will not compare myself with a professional. We are not the same person either.

My shots are just attempts to catch myself in the reflection of other objects. As we know, just changing the angle of looking at things makes us think or feel differently. If I see myself reflected in someone's eyes or in the mirror, the picture can be completely different.

DSC_5303.JPG


The mirror is the most "cruel" item. It reflects how you are, at least in terms of your physical appearance. Wrinkled forehead. Grey hairs on your shoulder. Loose skin under your chin. It shows the lack of collagen and melanin (a nice way of saying that I am not so young anymore 😁). Thank you, Mirror.

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

IMG_20240213_124854.jpg


If I try to take a self-portrait from a distance I don't see those details that reveal my aging process. However, some very shady things were happening with this background, the abandoned premises and with me.

In this blue frame, a very dusty glass permitted me to see a door inside this place that once was a furniture shop. The result is creepy with that old car Seat and me who tried to lean on the door frame, which was just a reflection. And what was that sticker of a chicken doing there?

You better make up a different story for this photo in your mind, as the truth is that I just didn't know what I was doing. 😂

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

DSC_6797.JPG


DSC_6798.JPG

Getting these self-portraits was fun. I saw myself in the the reflection of my husband's sunglasses, so asked him to stand still. We made two tries, so here are both photos. I like more the second photo, which is in the portrait mode.

You can see that I got some yellow glow in these reflections from the sunglasses. According to what is considered the yellow colour symbolizes, these reflections can bring happiness and sunshine, exactly how I finally feel myself after many days of fighting back a health condition I don't even want to mention.

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png


During this walk today, where I saw myself in the reflection of the sunglasses and the window of the abandoned premises, I tried to experiment with the window of a car. I didn't like the result so I continued walking but then shadows appeared.

Many, many lines.

DSC_6804.JPG


DSC_6803.JPG


The lines from the pavement and from the shadow of the fence went all in their direction, how they wanted. No one could align them, so I appeared there, this time not as a reflection but also as a shadow, contrasting. Things don't always have to be in perfect line.

mipiano_-_MP.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center