Axie Infinity - bought some MEO IIs

Axie Infinity - bought some MEO IIs
Following on from my previous Axie Infinity post, my goal was to buy at least one more Axie to bring my Axie stable back up to 10 -

I’ve got other ideas for the ETH on mainnet so I’ll have to get my 10th Axie another day.

Well I wasn’t planning for another day to be the next day. I guess you could say I FOMO-ed in. I bought not one, but two MEO II Axies. These two Axies as battlers and breeders are nothing out of the ordinary but the fact that they are MEO IIs has two advantages -

  1. MEO IIs are ‘tagged’ Axies - that means they have rarity attributes that vanilla Axies just don’t have. The most well-known tagged Axies are Mystics, followed by Origins, followed by MEOs, then it’s MEO IIs, then there are others like Christmas parts and the new addition is the Japanese part Axies which were ‘retired’ when Ronin launched. Tagged attributes cannot be bred - the Axies can breed but the children will not be tagged.
  2. Little-known fact (at least as far as I can tell), tagged Origins (which implies Mystics as well as Mystics are Origins with special parts), MEOs and MEO IIs cost 0 SLP to breed.

Avatar from seuchenhund’s awesome Axie avatar generator on Axie Zone.

The two I bought yesterday already had one breed each - now just one breed is enough for it to lose some of its rarity appeal. If it’s not a zero-breed, its not as desirable. On the other hand you pay a premium (which I just did not have) - and that’s OK too because my thesis for buying these two was to breed them anyways, all the way up to seven breeds. I still have to pay 4 AXS per breed which hurts a bit but considering the Axies (at today’s prices) should go from somewhere in the range of 0.12 to 0.15 ETH I will be getting an excellent return - basically enough to cover the costs of one of the MEO IIs. If prices keep rising at insane rates maybe I will sell one and take a nice profit, haven’t decided that yet.

Hopefully I will not regret this later but to get the funds to buy these Axies I sold the last of my airdropped FORTH tokens. This token has performed pretty poorly since the airdrop so I think the odds are that the outcome of this move will be in my favour. I have 11 Axies now with more to come through the six breeds I’ll be making over the coming days and weeks. I did two straight away but I might take the rest of them slower - there is a slight chance that the Axie Infinity core team might decrease the 4 AXS cost to breed. The upshot is I can play and earn SLP without running out of ‘energy’, which gives me more earnings potential.

By the way, this is my first post in the brand new Axie Buzz community on Hive. Word is ‘they’ (not sure who they are?) are starting a Hive Axie Infinity scholarship program - I will have some spare Axies to potentially lend out soon so please reach out if you need help and I’d be happy to talk.

Thanks for reading. If you’re interested in reading more about Axie Infinity, here are some of my previous Axie posts on Hive -

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency