Axie Infinity - Daisy

This is the story of how Daisy came to be part of my Axie family.

Avatar from seuchenhund’s awesome Axie avatar generator on Axie Zone.

This was my first experience bridging assets (SLP) off Ronin to Ethereum mainnet, swapping SLP for ETH on Uniswap, then bridging ETH back to Ronin so I could grab Daisy on the marketplace and bring her home safely. I was hanging out for the much-anticipated Ronin DEX to swap SLP for ETH on Ronin to avoid fees, but who knows how long that’s going to be and today seemed as good a day as any with gas fees being comparatively low to anything we’ve seen recently.

When my Axies first arrived on Ronin in May, I got all excited by how fast Axies were selling. I decided to sell all my ‘vanilla’ Axies that I bought when I was first starting out and buy what I perceived to be higher value Axies (read about it here). What totally slipped my mind that was this -

After my mass sell-off, then buying four zero-breed Japanese part Axies I had just eight Axies in the stable. Ooops! It’s only an issue for me when trying to complete the daily quest and I lose a few battles, I run out of energy chasing the five PVP wins I need to be eligible for the extra 50 SLP from completing the quest.

When I realised this I started thinking about how I would spend my SLP earned from play to get my Axie numbers back up to 10. I was also thinking about Origin Axies (first-generation Axies) and how there will only ever be a maximum of 4088. So I thought - ‘What about Axies that are NOT Origins but have an ID of less than 4088?’. This was my tweet thread about it. This is possible because in the early days of Axie Infinity, Origins were spawned by rolling ‘Axie Origin coin’. There was an approximately 25% chance that an Origin could have a mystic part, then less chance for it to have multiple mystic parts. But folks could start breeding Axies before all the Axie Origin coins had been rolled, hence why it’s possible for a non-Origin Axie to have an ID lower than 4088 - like Daisy. Both her parents are Origins. But what drew me most to her was that she also has a Japanese part (Yen eyes - see the little Yen symbols in her eyes, so CUTE!). So she would have been one of the first bred Axies and one of the first Axies with a Japanese part. I think that’s pretty cool, but I nerd out on these things. She’s had a few breeds (three). I normally only buy zero breeds but this was a budget purchase. She’s a beast - I don’t have any other beasts currently so I may use her in one of my PVP teams. I don’t mind her cards at all - there’s a Goda that destroys energy, a zero-energy card and some nice shields. Welcome home Daisy!

I paid 0.45 ETH for her so that was most of the 0.52 ETH I got for the SLP I swapped. If I’d transferred slightly more ETH back to Ronin I could have bought a floor Axie to get my stable back up to 10 but I decided to just transfer enough to purchase Daisy. I’ve got other ideas for the ETH on mainnet so I’ll have to get my 10th Axie another day. I was very impressed by how smooth the process was using the Ronin bridge to move assets both ways, so that day may come sooner than I first thought.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency