community
"One of the things I love about horror are all the amazing sequels!"

Halloween Horror Movies: Part One - Welcome to Hell! We have popcorn!

horror-900x360.jpg

For as long as I can remember I've loved a good scare. This has manifested in all sort of strange and fun ways but mostly it came out in my lifelong love of collecting horror VHS. In my home town there was a small video rental store and, with the advent of the internet, I discovered I could get a movies in lots through ebay!

Now, years later I have office filled with all of the movies I love and grew up on. As Halloween approaches I thought it might be interesting to share some of the movies I love with the PeakD community that has invited me in so warmly. I can't really say I know how this will go. Let's find out together!

PXL_20211018_002127378.jpg

One of the things I love about horror are all the amazing sequels! Out of all the sequels I love Phantasm 2 sit's a lot the heap! It's one of the most fun and best designed sequels I've ever seen and I highly encourage you start the series.

Check out this trailer:

My favorite thing about Phantasm 2 is how quickly it gets going. Within 10 minutes the two main characters are in a hardware store making flamethrowers, quad barrel shotguns, and chainsaw swords. Get going yall!

PXL_20211018_002109396.MP.jpg

Looking for something hilarious? Well well well friends it might e time to ook a stay in Motel Hell! Are you prepared to find out what exotic critters it takes to make Farmer Vincent's Fritters? I don't think you are honestly. More on this one soon!

PXL_20211018_002051566.jpg

Night of the Creeps is one of the finest horror movies I've ever seen and I have a long personal history with it. This is a super deep cut that even most horror fans have not heard of but anyone with two braincells to rub together is going to love. It's a multigenerational story about what can happen when an alien bioweapon gets loose on earth and, some time later, you go the living deal. Oof.

One of the great things about this one is that it has Tom Atkins who is one of the best character actors in all of horror. Check it out!

PXL_20211018_002153430.jpg

Now we're starting to get into the really pricey stuff. This one is in a case because well ... these movies aren't getting any less rare as the decades pass. This case still has a glossy cover over it that I'd not noticed until it was time to photograph it.

Yes ladies and gentlemen, there are freaks like me out there who are spending all their extra money to put 40 year old movies in protective shells. Oy, what a life!

PXL_20211018_002227079.jpg

Shockwaves is fantastic! Listen to this storyline.

"This horror movie concerns a shipwrecked yachting party. Rose and her fellow yacht-mates, including the captain run aground on an island when they hit an odd-looking freighter. Once beached, they meet up with an aging SS Commander who had been in charge of a crew of zombies!"

Get ready to meet the Death Corps! The most terrifying Nazi experiment in terror! It also has Peter Cushing later in his career and, goddamn does he kill his it part in this cornball classic. If you are looking for something with a bit more cheese hit this one first!

It has one of the most interesting and novel "the only way to kill them is ..." I've seen in cheapo horror. Get going!

PXL_20211018_002210665.jpg

This is likely the most popular title on this list and, The Stuff has such amazing design, I'd be a fool to not pass along this trailer.

Gosh, what a classic. I find myself thinking of this one as The Adventure of Young bill clinton. There is just something so perfect about the wonderful accent the main character uses and the weird and strange storytelling style used in this film.

This movie is a classic of modern horror design and knocks it's ball out of the park. The Stuff has the stuff yall! This one might be a lot harder to find a copy of but do your best!

While the end of the post is here I wanted to pass along one more extra special piece. Check out this beautiful MGM Gatefold Motel Hell.

PXL_20211018_002403757.jpg

The art on this one gives you a bit more of a hit about the kind of movie you are signing up for and does a better job framing the image of the main antagonists the get the American Gothic imagery across.

Did you like this post? It's kinda the first time I've tried something like this and, if you've found it interesting I can share some more. I hope you enjoyed yall!

Halloween Horror Movies: Part One - Welcome to Hell! We have popcorn!

This is a cross post of @m3ss/halloween-horror-movies-part-one-welcome-to-hell-we-have-popcorn by @m3ss.

One of the things I love about horror are all the amazing sequels!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center