Blue Waters of the Mississippi River

DSCF0507_edited.jpeg

As mentioned earlier today, my family took a road trip to Winona, Minnesota this past weekend to visit the Minnesota Maritime Museum. We try to visit the museum a few times a year. It's a gem, nestled along the Mississippi River, and features wonderful maritime artworks, as well as a few masters pieces, here and there. There's even a Van Gogh...way over here in the Driftless Area.

DSCF0501_edited.jpeg

Another thing we love about the museum is the consistent, rotating exhibits. This past weekend featured quite a few photographs from the photographer, Mustafah Abdulaziz. I was blown away...the black and white images revolving around "water" were mesmerizing and I found myself drifting back to certain pieces as we perused the museum for over two hours. Feeling inspired, and having enough foresight to bring along my Fujifilm x100v, I went outside and snapped a few images of the nearby "water" myself.

DSCF0500_edited.jpeg

DSCF0504_edited.jpeg

Now, I know none of these are museum-worthy, but still...to be inspired in the moment to go outside and shoot photos at that moment. That, to me, was the most memorable part of the experience.

DSCF0505_edited.jpeg

So there you have it...a few photos of the mighty Mississippi on a cool February, winter's day. Please let me know what you think below if you have a chance...I'm still playing around the camera, but feeling more confident with each time I use it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now