His Testimony > My Story.

2023-06-09_12-56-51.png

I was 18 when I first came to know Jesus.

That was a long time ago. I turn 40 this year. I don't remember a lot from my early twenties but I do remember specifically, early on in my faith, wanting to soak up everything I could about Jesus. I didn't grow up in a church or have any Christian friends so my resources were limited. There was, however, a Christian TV channel where I grew up just outside of Toronto and it was called Crossroads. I used to watch it ALL the time!

One evening, I remember watching a preacher, who's name I can't recall, speak on a pretty blunt topic. "When you die, how will you be remembered?"

I remember him very clearly saying, "At your funeral, when someone speaks....do you want them to simply share your story or do you want them to share your testimony?"

I didn't quite understand the difference until several years later.

"Everybody's got a story!"

How many times have we heard that quote? Probably about a million, right? And it's true! We all have a story. With multiple chapters, filled with unique circumstances and diverse characters. The plot twists and turns as we navigate through life. Some are happy chapters while other ones could break even the hardest heart. Everybody has a story. I'd even argue that I think it's important that we listen to each others stories! It's part of how we connect and get to know each other. Finding similarities within the walls of who we are. Within our story.

So share your story.

What that preacher was trying to say is...when you live your life to just simply share your story, inevitably, YOU are the star of that book. It's about you. The good, the bad and the ugly. And every story has an ending. Mine will end. Yours will end. And that final chapter will be when we die. Nobody wants to think about that but it's going to happen to all of us. Our story will end. It will end at a funeral (most likely) with tears from those who loved us (if we're lucky) sharing our story with each other. The end.

But do you have a testimony?

I used to say all the time that “I don’t have a testimony.” I said that because I didn’t understand what it meant. What I was trying to convey when I said that was, “I think my story is boring.” Some people will share their story and it causes you to wonder how they are even still standing. You can clearly see the power of God through it.

What I’ve come to realize is that God's ultimate desire is for everyone to recognize they do have a testimony, regardless of what their story is! His desire is for us to know Him.

The beautiful part is, if you’re found in Christ, your testimony is automatic. It doesn't need any bells and whistles added to it to make it greater than it already is. Why? Because there is NOTHING you or I could possibly add to the testimony of Jesus Christ to make it any greater than it already is!

Jesus Christ, leaving His throne in heaven, taking on human form, dying on a cross for our sins and conquering death and granting us eternal life with Him in paradise.

While your story is about you - your experiences, your situation, your perspective - when you know Jesus, your testimony is about Him. Jesus Christ is your testimony!

So even though I think my story would make a pretty boring book or movie, my perspective has changed.

I definitely have a testimony. And that testimony is about Jesus Christ. To tell everyone that I once was lost and now I’m found. That I once was one way and now I’m completely different - and the thing that happened in-between was Him.

Please...don't share the boring details of my story at my funeral. Talk about my testimony. Talk about Jesus!

Oh.

I almost forgot the best part! While your story and my story will end, when you're found in Christ, your testimony is eternal. mic drop


352725130_791218305989603_85385625424146527_n.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now