They All Died

Today is a day of reflection on my life since Tomorrow is my born again day. The day I was born again is a unique birthday for me especially now that I am in my mid-forties in this world.

Additionally, I recollect how life was when growing up. A part of the scripture in the book of Hebrews chapter 11 says "and all these died in faith", notwithstanding, for the grace of God I would have been dead and forgotten at this point. Not a death in faith but rather death in sin. I know what am saying. I give thanks to God that I acknowledged giving my life to Christ Jesus at the time that I did even though I was still battling with sin at that point.


There were several of my childhood friends at that time who were waiting to repent "well well" as we say in Nigeria before they acknowledge to serve God. A significant number of them are dead today, I went to their burial services. I'm not taunting their passing however to tell you where am coming from. What killed them was sin, and that same sin would have slaughtered me also. Be that as it may, God in his benevolence changed the story of my life.

Experiencing childhood in a home and in a culture where excessive admiration for idolatry is magnified to the most significant level leaves you with no alternative but to accept what the culture instructed you. What's more, however innocent as children may be, we feel that is the awesome life we could get, being secured up in a little village without a piece of information on the more extensive society, we even thought that we were that awesome.

Devouring excessive admiration customs in a culture that put down no stopping points between good and bad, we grew up to accept all types of indecency. While some chose to utilize their lives as testing machines for anything smokeable and anything drinkable to inferred joy, others took to sexual pleasure however much the way of life permitted. It was about pleasure and nothing about the future. That was the sort of culture where I grew up.


It was unacceptable to live life as opposed to the standards and practice of the general public as you won't find a space among your peers. Education was not a need in this sort of system, since the elders never taught it was anything a commitment for them to send the kids to school, even when the school was free for all. I embraced education right early in life because my mom needed me to affect my friends. Learning in school assists me with seeing past my little village and made me fully aware of the anomalies in my social foundation.

However, I grow up among similar individuals whose ways and beliefs were unmistakably unique to mine. Although I could think uniquely however I neglected to show it in my conduct and connections with my friends inspired by a paranoid fear of being rejected among them.


A period comes when I need answers to the numerous inquiries that darkened my soul, a period I need a deliverer to save me from the difficulties that destiny has brought upon me. Around then I lost my dear mother, the only individual who has been there for me, battling day by day to see that I become something different from others.

It was a tough period of my life, haven't quite recently lost my mom and been tossed out of school for the inability to provide the money for the enrollment of enlistment for WASC, "The west Africa school certificate examination". The aching of my heart was to find a savior who could save me from exiting school, however, I ended up meeting a savior who could not only save the body but also the soul. A savior indeed who didn't just save me from being a school dropout but also from being a life dropout.

I recall how I was booed by my friends on my first day of declaring my Christian faith to them. They laughed at me to scorn and called me a wide range of names. However, I know deep inside me that I have discovered the solutions to the aching of my heart. I needed to find out about myself and see where this recently discovered faith leads me. I express gratitude toward God I never thought of going back nor given to peer pressure. Even though I never had the chance to pay for the WASC enrollment that year, I discovered something seriously fulfilling that has kept me going to this day.


They all died, indeed, every one of my companions that we grew up together, played together, sinned together, passed on rashly. I remember talking with them then, at that point to follow me to the church, even at the point of sickness, they attempted and fall, and fall over and over until they were unable to stand. They were hanging tight for the time they will repent very well before they acknowledge to serve God. They battled with fornication, smoking, drinking, and different things. I was there as well, however, I came to serve God in my weaknesses and the Lord help me.

One after the other, my dear childhood friends died and I went to their funerals. I would've been one of them had I not chosen an alternate route to serve God as opposed to following the standards of my social foundation. So if I am celebrate a birthday it will be the day that I was born again. The day I found my Lord and my savior Jesus Christ.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center