#MONOMAD Challenge Water Collision

#MONOMAD Challenge Water Collision

It was quite some time ago when I tried the art of water collision. A friend of mine and myself years ago attempted to capture water drop art spending hours photographing drops of water trying to get the timing perfect ending in supreme failure but a lot of fun trying. Last night after hours of setup, the odd youtube video and of course some state of the art equipment, I finally took the time and played with some of the toys I purchased many years ago.
drop---00bbw.jpg
Setting up my Nikon D-800 with a Nikon 105mm macro lens, a Pluto Trigger, and a Pluto Valve I began frame after frame setting up the scene to master at least one cool collision of water. My background was record albums and my flash a state of the art studio lighting by Camray.

drop----aabw.jpg

The Pluto Trigger has an app which takes some time to set up to get just right. It talks to the Pluto Valve via BluTooth and allows settings for each drop. In this case I used two drops creating the collision with the second drop. To get the results photographed took several hours and I am still looking for perfection.

drop----aaabw.jpg

Setting up the Nikon 105 lens is deeply as challenging and I wrote a blog about that a while back. The depth of field is challenging as it is so tight that part of the droplet is blurred and the parts I wanted crisp were tedious to accomplish.

drop---0bw.jpg

The first drop has to be set on the Pluto so when it splashes upward hits its peak, then the second droplet has to be set up to hit the peak of the first drop. Even once its set up it does not necessarily work out.
drop--8bw.jpg
IMAGE Second drop descending onto first rising drop

Here are a few of the photos from last night and this morning. Enjoy!
drop---00abw.jpg

drop---000bw.jpg

drop---1bw.jpg
drop--9be.jpg

drop---4bw.jpg

drop---9bw.jpg

drop-.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center