The horrors of mismanaged loneliness

So, do you want to see what I saw? I'm talking about yesterday at the Zoo, located on 26th Street, in the Nuevo Vedado neighbourhood of Havana.

Tell me yes. 😜

Okay. Come with me.

I thought the best processing for these photos would be Black and White and I'll tell you why.


$1

It was raining, not pouring, but that rain that brushes you and wets you without you realising it.

On weekdays people don't visit the zoo very often. Children are at school, I guess. And if it was two hours before closing time and the sky was darkening... the few who were there, I guess again, decided to leave.

And there I was, delighted to be alone. Or not so lonely because there was a family that I met almost as I was leaving and they gave me a lollipop as a present. Well, as I said, I was delighted until I found this.


$1

I know he's just a clown but he reminded me of Chucky. You know what I mean? The creepy doll.


$1

I could feel the silence getting heavy and suddenly I turned my head and saw what this state of loneliness represented. Oh, I was a bit confused, let's see.


$1

Everything I saw brought back bustling memories of my childhood, at the amusement park in Artemisa, where I used to eat candyfloss and ride the spinning horses and the star (the Ferris wheel). That's why I thought black and white would look better in this story. However, there in the solitude of the zoo and half wet, my mind was continuously shutting down and I was only activating by the automatic pilot inside me that photographers have.


$1

Oh, yes, the little horses. 🙂


$1

Not even they could lighten the burden of silence on my shoulders. I decided to move to the main street.


$1

Wait, one more photo.


$1

Hey, are you a masochist or what?


$1

You know I like to reflect. And if you read the title of this post I am talking about several things at the same time. Loneliness doesn't have to be bad if you know what to do with it, you are not alone, you have yourself and your world, where there will always be motivations if you don't let Chucky take over your thoughts.


$1

But... 😧 why do you look at me like that? 🤣 OK, it's a rupeli vulture, from sub-Saharan Africa. And it was in that place behind the columns, looking at me while I was photographing Chucky.

... the main street.


$1

There were supposed to be flamingos here. What is that?


$1

Monkeys were in high spirits climbing the guava tree. On a small island, in the middle of the pond where one day I met the flamingos.


$1

I have always wondered if what separates them from me is a bit of water, why don't they just cross it? Just in case let me move, I said to myself. My experiences with primates are not pleasant.


$1

Loneliness can be like this scene if you fail to converge with the beat of your heart. These are cold and calculating creatures.

Here ends my participation in this #Monomad Challenge and I must say I love this shot.


$1

I didn't retouch it at all, I just turned it to black and white as you can see here.



Original content by @nanixxx. All rights reserved ©, 2024.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center