The Little Palace / El Pequeño Palacio [eng/esp]

This is my entry to the #monomad challenge. I'll tell you a little story...
Esta es mi entrada al #monomad challenge. Les cuento una pequeña historia...


When I was returning from a trip to another province, the bus had a problem and we had to get off and wait for it to be repaired.
Cuando regresaba de un viaje a otra provincia, el bus tuvo un fallo y tuvimos que bajarnos y esperar a que lo repararan.


I took advantage of the moment to walk around and not far away I found this little house. The first impression I got is the one that everyone would get when seeing it for the first time, a poor little wooden house in the middle of the street, isolated from the rest.
Aproveché el momento para caminar los alrededores y no muy lejos me encontré con esta casita. La primera impresión que me llevé es la que se llevaría todo el mundo al verla por primera vez, una pobre casita de madera en medio de la calle, aislada del resto


But it wasn't until I decided to take these pictures and a humble man dressed in rubber boots and a straw hat stood next to me and asked me ~"Why are you taking pictures of my house?"~. I replied that I found it curious and I thought that no one lived in it. After sighing, she told me:
~ "In addition to being curious, it is great, those wooden planks have withstood a lot, they have resisted cyclones and those tiles, heavy rains, thus protecting me from the worst storms; this little house that for me is my palace, has seen all the effort, all the work that I have gone through to keep it standing. This house is like my mother, and I will die here, in the arms of the warmth that she gives me"~
Pero no fue hasta que decidí tomar estas fotografías y que un humilde señor vestido con botas de agua y sombrero de paja se parase a mi lado y me preguntase "¿Por qué fotografias mi casa?". Le respondí que me pareció curiosa y pensé que nadie habitaba en ella. Luego de suspirar me dijo "además de curiosa, es grandiosa, esos tablones de madera han soportado mucho, han resistido ciclones y esas tejas, fuertes lluvias, cuidándome así de las peores tormentas; esta pequeña casa que para mí es mi palacio, ha visto todo el esfuerzo, todo el trabajo que he pasado por mantenerla en pie. Esta casa es como mi madre, y moriré aquí, en los brazos del calor que me ella me brinda"


I smiled, apologized for the inconvenience caused and went back to wait for the bus to be repaired. I'm glad I took those beautiful words and these photos with me.
Sonreí, me disculpé por las molestias ocasionadas y regresé a esperar a que repararan el bus. Me alegro de haberme llevado esas hermosas palabras y estas fotos.



Img 1

Img 2

Thanks for read <3
Gracias por leer

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center