SOMETIMES THIS TOWN - MONOMAD - B&W photography from Montalbán, Carabobo, Venezuela || ENG-ESP || (09 Pics)

tcats.jpg


Hello monochromatic #Hive friends!... Sometimes my town seems to be ‘more monochrome than usual’, although I have to confess that lately I feel like saying ‘sometimes it's more #monomad than usual’ because a lot of my street photography work ends up being shared here with you in #Hive and very particularly in this warm and charming space promoted and managed by our dear team @monochromes... And I make reference to all this because coincidentally, today I was looking at the selection of #monomad works and I noticed that we have here an increasing technical level and at the same time we are presenting photos with a great emotional content, very eloquent and human... Then I figured that, just like me, many other photographers must be thinking about #monomad while taking and/or editing their pictures, and also the fact of participating here on a recurrent basis, has translated into a constant increase of their technical skills to create and process monochromatic photographs... But let's move on to my photos today... Come with me!...

¡Hola amigos monocromáticos de #Hive!... Algunas veces mi pueblo parece estar "más monocromático que de costumbre", aunque tengo que confesar que últimamente se me antoja decir algunas veces está "más #monomad que de costumbre" y es que mucho de mi trabajo fotográfico callejero termina siendo compartido aquí con ustedes en #Hive y muy particularmente en este cálido y encantador espacio promovido y manejado por nuestro querido equipo @monochromes... Y hago referencia a todo esto porque casualmente, hoy estaba viendo la selección de trabajos #monomad y me percaté de que tenemos aquí un nivel técnico cada vez mayor y al mismo tiempo estamos presentando fotos con de gran contenido emocional, muy elocuentes y humanas... Entonces me imaginé que, tal como me sucede a mi, muchos otros fotógrafos deben pensar en #monomad mientras hacen y/o editan sus fotografías, y además el hecho de participar de manera recurrente aquí, se ha traducido en un incremento constante de sus habilidades técnicas para crear y procesar fotografías monocromáticas... ¡Pero pasemos a ver mis fotos de hoy!... ¡Vengan conmigo!...

T01.jpg
📷 01- "The child playing in the doorway" / "El niño jugando en el portal"

T02.jpg
📷 02- "A Thousand Wires on Commerce Avenue" / "Mil cables en la Av. Comercio"

T03.jpg
📷 03- "Silent scrap" / "Chatarra en silencio"

T04.jpg
📷 04- "Cemetery with the Soviet district in the background" / "Cementerio con el barrio soviético al fondo"

T05.jpg
📷 05- "One of those too-weird scenes" / "Una de esas escenas demasiado raras"

Taking photos while ‘thinking in black and white’ is something that teaches us to use shapes, lines, lights, subjects, shadows and much more as tools that become a fundamental part of the structure of the photo. In a monochrome photo for example, a cloud stops being a ‘white thing floating there’ and becomes a showcase of small details, tones and textures. The same often happens with walls affected by the weather, a puddle of water or a simple opened door leaf... Lately I've been editing more of my photos in colour, those of you who follow my content on #Hive will have noticed, but I have to confess that it was by taking black and white photos that I learned to use the spaces of colour as central elements when composing and selecting a photograph. That's how important it can be -at least in my case- to have an instinctive visual background cultivated through monochromatic photography...

Hacer fotos mientras las "pensamos en blanco y negro" es algo que nos enseña a valernos de las formas, las lineas, las luces, los sujetos, las sombras y mucho más como herramientas que pasan a formar parte fundamental de la estructura de la foto. En una foto monocromática por ejemplo, una nube deja de ser una "cosa blanca flotando allí" y se convierte en un muestrario de pequeños detalles, tonos y texturas. Lo mismo suele sucede con las paredes afectadas por el paso del tiempo, una charca de agua o una simple hoja de alguna puerta entre abierta... Últimamente estoy editando más de mis fotos a colores, aquellos que siguen mi contenido en #Hive así deben de haberlo notado, pero tengo que confesar que fue haciendo fotos en blanco y negro, como aprendí a usar los espacios de color a manera de elementos centrales al momento de componer y seleccionar una fotografía. Así de importante puede ser -cuando menos en mi caso- tener un basamento visual instintivo cultivado a través de la fotografía monocromática...

T06.jpg
📷 06- "The forest swallowing the street" / "El bosque tragando la calle"

T07.jpg
📷 07- "I see through my window" / "Yo veo a través de mi ventana"

T08.jpg
📷 08- "Checklist on Kiosk Street" / "Listado en la calle de los Kioscos"

I'm just a guy with a camera in the streets of a small town in the middle of Venezuela, I've never really studied photography (I'm a retired IT engineer and I haven't been working for a long time), and I started taking photos because a psychologist recommended me to have a hobby as therapy, because my work was about to drive me crazy. So when I write everything I write about photography, I feel I take the risk of sounding too petulant and too empirical... But I feel that I like writing as much as taking pictures and sharing them, so I hope you will bear with me :)... ¡Please!

Yo soy apenas un tipo con una cámara en las calles de un pueblo pequeñito en medio de Venezuela, en realidad nunca he estudiado fotografía (soy ingeniero de IT retirado y con mucho tiempo sin ejercer), además comencé a hacer fotos porque un psicólogo me recomendó tener un pasatiempo a manera de terapia, pues mi trabajo estuvo a punto de enloquecerme. Así que cuando escribo todo cuanto escribo acerca de fotografía, siento que corro el riesgo de parecer demasiado petulante y demasiado empírico... Pero siento que escribir me gusta tanto como hacer fotos y compartirlas, así que espero que ustedes me tengan la suficiente paciencia :)...

T09.jpg
📷 09- "I would call it: The street on a screen!" / "Yo la llamaría: ¡La calle en una pantalla!"


And today more than ever: This post is my entry to the #monomad challenge!... Thank you very much for your visit and appreciation!

Y hoy más que nunca: ¡Esta publicación es mi entrada al reto #monomad!... ¡Muchas gracias por pasar y apreciar!

ADDITIONAL TECHNICAL NOTE: Photographs captured with my Nikon D7000 DSLR camera in RAW format, then processed in Adobe Camera RAW for adjustments regarding light, sharpening, contrast and depth... They were then exported to JGP format on which minor modifications such as straightening and adding watermarks were carried out using PhotoScape 3.6.3.

NOTA TÉCNICA ADICIONAL: Fotografias capturadas con mi cámara DSLR Nikon D7000 en formato RAW, procesadas posteriormente en Adobe Camera RAW para ajustes relativos a luz, afilado, contraste y profundidad... Luego fueron exportadas a formato JGP sobre el cual se llevaron a cabo modificaciones menores como enderezado y agregado de marcas de agua usando PhotoScape 3.6.3.


"We make photographs to understand what our lives mean to ourselves." - Ralph Hattersley.

"Hacemos fotografías para comprender lo que nuestras vidas significan para nosotros mismos." - Ralph Hattersley.

CED_DSC1187BN-horz.jpg


Camera: Nikon D7000
Lens: Sigma 18-200mm f3.5-6.3 II DC OS HSM
Lens: Tokina ATX-PRO 100mm f/2.8 d MACRO
Lens: AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Lens: AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Lens: Nikon AF Nikkor 50 mm f/1.8d FX
Lens:AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G

Cámara: Nikon D7000
Lente: Sigma 18-200mm f3.5-6.3 II DC OS HSM
Lente: Tokina ATX-PRO 100mm f/2.8 d MACRO
Lente: AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Lente: AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Lente: Nikon AF Nikkor 50 mm f/1.8d FX
Lente: AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G


Montalbán, Carabobo, Venezuela.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center