Kaneohe Nostalgia

0048-001.jpg

0048-011.jpg

0048-017.jpg

0048-012.jpg

0048-007.jpg

Here are a series of photos I took when I was majoring in photography and living in Kaneohe on the island of Oahu. This was one of my favorite periods in life so far. I would spend 8+ hours in the dark room almost everyday, learning everything I could about film. I would get lost in the physicality of editing with my hands and tools that I created out of paper and chopsticks. How cool it was to wave my hands and tools under a projector of my image. The light spilling onto a blank piece of paper and only after being dipped into a chemical bath would my photo appear on the once blank photo paper. The darkroom was my favorite place to be and it is one of my biggest dreams to have my own darkroom one day. However, I did not develop these specific photos myself. Years after I finished this film class I was looking through boxes and found an undeveloped role of film. I brought it to my local film shop and had them developed there. It was so cool to see what was on the film and have a million Kaneohe memories rush back, of a time when all I did was shoot film.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center