Scenes from a Bike - Edition 4 - Special #Monomad Edition

Castles (1 of 1).jpg

Welcome to The fourth Edition of the series - Scenes from a bike

The concept is simple, I've bought an electric bike, on this bike I explore my hometown, Melbourne Australia and take photos, Priority 1 - Finding new places in Melbourne, Priority 2 - taking better photos, Bonus - Earn back the cost of the bike by creating content and getting paid for it on HIVE.

This Edition facts:

Location: Melbourne University - Not far from my house, Founded in 1853 it is Australia's Second oldest University, this, the main campus fills most of the suburb of Parkville, just north of the downtown on Melbourne.

Date & Weather: Sunday the 3rd of July, Winter, it's cold the app on my phone tells me it 'feel's like' 8 degrees, I'm wearing gloves, it's overcast

Equipment: My Fujifilm X-T3, which I've mated with another prime lens - the 23mm F2 (35mm Full frame Eqv), On learnings from last round I've not taken a bag the camera is strap over my shoulder and I rode my Vyron Cumulus 3.0 electric bike.

Finances: The bike cost $1,100 USD. So far I've earned $29.33 meaning I've paid for 2.7% of the bike and I have $1,071 to go.

Other stuff: I've had this bike for two month now and I was still on my first charge, I was determined to run it down to understand the range - it's meant to be 60-100km depending on a lot of things - I've got 71.6km - that's pretty good given I'm not the lightest person going around, and I live at the top of a hill. Now I understand how far I can go I can start to push a bit more.

Speedo (1 of 1).jpg

The post today has a theme, Melbourne University is a mismash of architectural styles so we are going to focus on the buildings, and the details. The header is from one of the older parts of the Uni and is classic Olde English style architecture.

These were all shot in Black and White in camera with the amazing Fujifilm Acros + Ye filter film simulation on.

The Wave (1 of 1).jpg

6.4f, 400ISO, 1/125, 35mm
This is from one of the newest building - ultra new wave

Deco (1 of 1).jpg
13f, 640ISO, 1/250, 35mm

Some Art Deco to spilt the difference

Classical (1 of 1).jpg

8f, 640ISO, 1/250, 35mm
Classical details.

Ormond College (1 of 1).jpg

7.1f, 320ISO, 1/250, 35mm
More Hogwarts vibes

Modern (1 of 1).jpg

6.4f, 400ISO, 1/250, 35mm
Brand new, but invoking the sandstone look of old.

Carpark (1 of 1).jpg

3.2f, 320ISO, 1/250, 35mm
Even the Carpark entrances here are fancy - seriously this is the pedestrian entry to the underground carpark.

Balls (1 of 1).jpg

11f, 640ISO, 1/125, 35mm
Just some random balls

70's Four (1 of 1).jpg

6.4f, 400ISO, 1/60, 35mm
Time for some Mid century modernism, hard to know here if I'm on the university grounds or a roadside motel.

70's Garden (1 of 1).jpg

2.8f, 640ISO, 1/125, 35mm
I'm sure there were discussions about how innovative this was 50 years ago.

And let's finish it up with three shots of angles, there is something about angles that have a power for me - maybe it's the power of the diagonal in composition, maybe it's the thought of the possibility of ascend or descent inherent in them.

70's three (1 of 1).jpg

70's too (1 of 1).jpg

Shapes (1 of 1).jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now