Monomad Challenge: Whale Shark and Snorkeler Underwater Silhouette

Underwater wildlife photography is my passion. I've traveled all over the world to swim with sharks, treasure hunt for nudibranchs, and hear whales sing underwater. I always have my trusty camera with me (Canon 5d) and my underwater housing (which takes up an entire extra suitcase).

But quite often I find that lugging all that heavy camera gear around is worth it in the end. That is how I felt after a morning of swimming and photographing whale sharks in Oslob, Philippines.

There was just something about this shot, with my girlfriend snorkeling beside a massive whale shark, and the clouds visible through the glass-like surface. I was freediving about twenty feet down, directly below the whale shark, looking up to get this photo. I doubt I will ever have another opportunity quite like this.

WhaleSharksCebu74.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center