My entry to the #monomad challenge: A Journey from Phone to DJI Osmo Pocket

Although I enjoy using my phone for photography, there are times when it feels like the photos it produces no longer thrill me. My phone feels outdated compared to the flashy new models being released recently. I crave the latest tech features found in these new versions. While my phone has a single lens camera, the latest versions come with four lenses. These new phones boast better image quality and more flexibility, offering everything from wide-angle shots to "telephoto-like" effects. I'd love to get my hands on one of these new phones; I bet I would have a great time using it. However, I'm torn between wanting the latest version and not wanting to retire my current phone. For now, I'll stick with my current one until next year.

Fortunately, I recently acquired another piece of gear that has been helping me learn about videography. I'm still getting to grips with the basics. Gaining the confidence to capture quality videos requires practice and effort to hone my skills.

I also realized that the DJI Osmo Pocket, which I own, has the capability to take photos. The beauty of it lies in its super wide-angle lens, almost like a fish-eye lens, which I enjoy using for photography.

Here are the photos that I took today.

Compared to my phone, the DJI Osmo Pocket's lens is about two to three times wider, so I don't have to squeeze into a corner to capture a view. The lens can rotate in every direction, ensuring that it always shows the best view of the scene, regardless of how I position it.

In contrast, my phone's viewing angle is fixed in one direction. To capture a specific angle, I have to bend or twist myself to get the right shot. In a way, my DJI Osmo Pocket is more intuitive, which is a very helpful feature in a camera. It significantly reduces the strain on my hands and back while taking photos.


Curamax Footer.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center