It's dads 86th Birthday today! So I'm celebrating him in B&W using Mum's old photos

Hi there Blackandwhiters around the world!
I tried to post this into the community last night, because it was dad's 86th birthday yesterday, but unfortunately Peakd was having tech issues uploading photos, but luckily Peakd has a great draft saving function, so atleast all of the text was saved...

Anyway, I'm absolutely loving the images that everyone is putting in the great community for the @monochromes #monomads challenge However I AM NOT submitting these #photos for the challenge, BUT if you want to join in and share your shots with the community, then please click on this link here to get all the info, dive in and have fun. @monochromes/monomad-august-24th-please-read-the-contest-rules-before-submitting-your-publications

So I was playing around with my #landscape #photographs in #blackandwhite on #photoshop earlier and #experimented with a few different #techniques that I was gong to share with you tonight, but realised that My dad John is far more important- every day, but particularly today, because today is his 86th birthday!

This is my Grandma- Leila and Grandpa Mick with their oldest son Uncle Keith (who unfortunately died in a swimming accident when he was 9, so not too long after this photo was taken), dad is the middle son there at about 4yrs of age and then Uncle Ron- the baby, who also unfortunately died far too young in 2000, so this photo would have been taken in about 1939-ish)

grandma_grandpa_uncle Keith_dad and uncle ron.png

So I'd like to dedicate this post to my dad who turns 86 yrs old today and if it hadn't of been for him back in 1960, then I wouldn't be able to take the photos of the back paddock- which I will share with you tomorrow night

A YOUNG DAD STANDING AT BACK STAIRS.png

Because back in 1960, when him and Mum were going out, they used to drive up this old dirt laneway overlooking the river until the local cop- who was Mum's next door neighbour, drove up, tapped on the car window waking dad up.

A YOUNG DAD WASHING THE CAR.png

Dad started driving trucks when he was 15, so when parked up with mum beside the river, always fell asleep...

And this is him with his Fuel Tanker back in 1952

DAD WITH THE OLD FUEL TRUCK.png

This is him relaxing on the sand down at the local river

A YOUNG DAD DOWN AT THE RIVER.png

And this is him playing with Mum's cat Socksy.

A YOUNG DAD PLAYING WITH SOCKSY.png

And this is the happy couple on their wedding day on the 30th April, 1960

7-THE 1960 WEDDING OF JOHN AND LOLA CARRIAGE.JPG

And this is the proud father and happy new owner of a M.A.N truck back in 1973
With myself and my brother Derek who has dedicated his entire life to looking after mum and dad and now is doing an absolutely outstanding job looking after dad for so long too.

Image 26-8-21 at 1.29 pm.jpg

Here's dad now in his usual position with his best mate Spike and see the other black and white photos of mum in frames beside him too.

dad n spike.png

So I salute you today my dad and I express not only my love for you, but also my deepest gratitude and appreciation for all that you did for us when we were growing up, working your guts out driving day and night to put food on the table and presents underneath the tree and for what you do for us even now.

Happy birthday dad, I know it's not the same anymore without mum, but we are still privileged to celebrate your birth with you.

πŸ πŸƒπŸŒπŸ•·πŸπŸ“πŸ¦†πŸΈπŸπŸΏπŸ¦‹πŸ’πŸžπŸ¦πŸˆπŸ¦†πŸ₯πŸœπŸ¦‘πŸ›πŸ„πŸ¦‡πŸͺπŸ¦πŸ³πŸŠπŸ¦€πŸ¦ŒπŸ–πŸ’πŸπŸ‹πŸπŸ„πŸ¦‡πŸͺπŸ¦πŸ³πŸŠπŸ¦€πŸ¦ŒπŸ–πŸ’πŸ

Now obviously I didn't take these photos and it would be totally ridiculous of me to claim that, because Mum took them all, (except for the one of Dad and his brothers with Grandma and Grandpa), but I do claim to be their lawful owner, as when mum died on Friday 16th December, 2017, (and weeks before that) all of her photos/slides/negatives/film and all other media was left to me, so I am the legal copyright owner, therefore have full permission to use them as I please and I am please to use them for this purpose- to honour my dad and celebrate his birthday.

πŸ πŸƒπŸŒπŸ•·πŸπŸ“πŸ¦†πŸΈπŸπŸΏπŸ¦‹πŸ’πŸžπŸ¦πŸˆπŸ¦†πŸ₯πŸœπŸ¦‘πŸ›πŸ„πŸ¦‡πŸͺπŸ¦πŸ³πŸŠπŸ¦€πŸ¦ŒπŸ–πŸ’πŸπŸ‹πŸ

Well, thank you all for reading and I hope that you enjoyed seeing some real, historical black and white images with some that are heading towards a 100yrs old and if you did make it this far, you are absolute champions!

πŸ πŸƒπŸŒπŸ•·πŸπŸ“πŸ¦†πŸΈπŸπŸΏπŸ¦‹πŸ’πŸžπŸ¦πŸˆπŸ¦†πŸ₯πŸœπŸ¦‘πŸ›πŸ„πŸ¦‡πŸͺπŸ¦πŸ³πŸŠπŸ¦€πŸ¦ŒπŸ–πŸ’πŸπŸ‹πŸ

The Ladies of Hive- your own crypto world girl gang full of fun and suprises, so click on the link to find out more about this brilliant community of caring, companionship and creative contests, such as this one....@ladiesofhive/ladies-of-hive-community-contest-41

Screen Shot 2021-07-25 at 10.22.34 pm.png

@hiveaustralia, formerly @teamaustralia check us out now!
(cause we're all such damn cool cats...😁


πŸ πŸƒπŸŒπŸ•·πŸπŸ“πŸ¦†πŸΈπŸπŸΏπŸ¦‹πŸ’πŸžπŸ¦πŸˆπŸ¦†πŸ₯πŸœπŸ¦‘πŸ›πŸ„πŸ¦‡πŸͺπŸ¦πŸ³πŸŠπŸ¦€πŸ¦ŒπŸ–πŸ’πŸπŸ‹πŸπŸ„πŸ¦‡πŸͺπŸ¦πŸ³πŸŠπŸ¦€πŸ¦ŒπŸ–πŸ’πŸ

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now