Block Theatre: Messing Around With Minifigs And Macbeth...

When my daughter was nine we played around with a combination of Duplo and Lego to create what we called "Block Theatre" and played out some scenes from a couple of Shakespeare plays, first Macbeth, and later on, Romeo and Juliet.

In the beginning we just set up a stage and benches for the minifig audience to come and watch Macbeth.

We took some photos, but sadly I lost most of them. Just a couple survive as far as I know. One is of the opening scene of Macbeth, when Macbeth and Banquo, returning after winning a battle, encounter the "three weird sisters..."

Screenshot 2020-04-19 at 10.10.15 PM.png

The only other photo that I still have is of Macbeth and the vision of the dagger,

Screenshot 2020-04-19 at 10.08.34 PM (1).png

Is this a dagger which I see before me,
The handle toward my hand?

In our next project, Romeo and Juliet, we attempted to video the scenes...

Source: https://davidhurleyinjapan.com/william-shakespeare/minifig-macbeth/

David Hurley

https://davidhurleyinjapan.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center