[EN/PT-BR] Leticia Parada on the Hive wave: bodysurfer, scientist, nature lover and community | Leticia Parada na onda da Hive: bodysurfer, cientista, amante da natureza e comunidade

English [🇺🇸]

Who am I?

Aloha, guys! I'm Leticia Parada, but a lot of people just call me by my surname “Parada”.

protetor.jpeg
Photo: This is me in Portugal.

I am a Physical Education teacher in public schools in the city of Praia Grande (coast of São Paulo) and I also teach at universities. Furthermore, I am doing my doctorate, I am a scientist, speaker, content creator, nature lover and bodysurfer. So you can get to know me better, I'm going to divide my story into some parts until we get here at Hive.

How did I become a Physical Education professional and scientist?

I have always loved playing sports and when I was a child I had a very serious back problem. The more I played sports, especially football, the more pain I felt in my back. Until one day my parents put me in a Capoeira group and I never felt pain again. So my love for sport grew more and more until I decided, at 14 years old, that I would be a Physical Education teacher one day. In 2012 I entered the Faculty of Physical Education and Sports at the age of 17 and graduated in 2015. In college I discovered science, fell in love with it and was the first student of the Physical Education course to publish a scientific article in a cientific magazine.

research_unisanta.jpg
Photo: Scientific research developed with professional swimmers from the University where I completed my Bachelor's degree in Physical Education.

In the next year I started studying for a Master’s in Ecology. Yes, I decided to get involved in an environmental course, as I have loved nature since I understood myself as a human being. And in 2022 I entered the Doctorate course in Environmental Science and Technology, where the focus of my thesis is on sport as a tool for human engagement and connection with the problem of plastic waste on beaches. And since then I have been researching and publishing scientific articles, and you can find out more by clicking here (http://lattes.cnpq.br/6208049925203839). And this year (2023) I became a Physical Education teacher at the schoolchildren of Praia Grande City Hall (São Paulo).

Here's an interesting fact: my first international trip was for work and I taught a competitive swimming clinic for athletes from Bolivia, in the city of Tarija. It was incredible and afterwards I gave another clinic to other Bolivian athletes.

swimming_tarija.jpg

Photo: Swimming clinic for Bolivian athletes.

How did I become a bodysurfer?

In college I learned how to ride a bodyboard and funboard. But when I went to the beach, my father always practiced bodysurfing (here in Brazil we also call it “jacaré”). So bodysurfing has always been by my side. And through the internet I found information about handboards for bodysurfing, known as handplane / handboard. I ended up buying one as a gift for a friend and then made one for myself with the help of my father. From then on I never stopped practicing this wonderful sport that allows me to feel the strength of nature when being in direct contact with the wave. No matter where I travel, where I go, I always take a pair of fins and a handplane. This is how I live.

_MG_1207.jpg
Photo: Me and this beautiful wave in Fernando de Noronha, photo by Maíra Kellermann.

Traveling the world and living with nature by my side

After I finished my Master's degree in 2018, I backpacked to Europe for 33 days. I visited Spain, France, Italy and Portugal. And this trip was incredible because I was alone, without internet access. So I used physical maps that I created myself to get to the places I wanted and I could meet a lot of people along this journey. On this trip I gave preference to nature, so I visited many islands, beaches, trails, etc. Here's another interesting fact: my grandfather and other family members were born in Spain, more specifically in the Galicia region. So I gained my dual citizenship, becoming Brazilian and Spanish.

bodysurf_spain.jpg

Photo: Bodysurfing in Galícia, Spain.

In 2018 I started getting involved with Route Brasil (https://www.instagram.com/routebrasil/), responsible for doing beautiful work in favor of nature. I was immediately enchanted by Route's actions and our meeting was 1 year later on the island of Fernando de Noronha, where I personally met Simão (co-founder of Route) and Fernanda, two wonderful people who love nature and fight hard for a world better. I am currently a Route Brasil ambassador!

route_noronha.jpg

Photo: Me, Simão and Fernanda after cleaning the beach in Fernando de Noronha.

By the way, in 2019 I was approved to be a volunteer in the Fernando de Noronha Marine National Park. If you don't know the island of Fernando de Noronha, I need to tell you that you really need to do this. It's a fantastic place with a very rich biodiversity, where I dived and surfed daily alongside turtles, sharks and other incredible marine animals. It was an incredible 6 months of my life.

noronha_turtle.jpg
Photo: Snorkeling with a beautiful turtle in Fernando de Noronha.

How did I become a content creator?

In 2018 I realized that there wasn't a YouTube channel about bodysurfing. Nobody was making videos giving bodysurfing tips, interviewing bodysurfers, etc. So I planned and at the beginning of 2019 I created my channel (https://www.youtube.com/ElaNoMar) and started posting content weekly. My stay on the island of Fernando de Noronha made creating content for the channel a lot easier because I met a lot of people. So I didn't just talk about bodysurfing, but also about issues related to the oceans and nature. I got a very good audience, as well as supporters and sponsors too. But in 2022, mainly due to my new study and work routine, I needed to stop content activities. I realized that the little time I had to surf was being taken up with recordings for my YouTube channel. And to be honest, I was getting really sad about it. So I decided to stop creating content for YouTube, but on Instagram you can find a lot about my routine at sea (https://www.instagram.com/paradaleticia/). Oh, and since 2019 I've been producing content related to bodysurfing for Surfguru and Aloha Spirit Midia, two sites that I'm very grateful for giving me space to talk about what I love!

How I arrived at web3, more specifically at Hive?

Some friends at Surfguru started making a majestic move to surf the web3 wave. I'm not going to name everyone here who inspired me to catch this wave too, but I need to highlight @crisciacm because she was the one who encouraged me to join the community and made me onboard to be here. Could I ask for more? Certainly not! It seems that the right people appear along our path when we need them most!
And here at Hive I'm going to share a lot about my journey and it involves different sports (not just bodysurfing), science, nature and much more! I'm counting on you to surf this wave together for a better and lighter world!

noronha.jpeg
Photo: Keep smiling, life is beautiful.


Português [PT-BR]

Quem sou eu?

Aloha, galera! Eu sou a Leticia Parada, mas muita gente me chama apenas pelo meu sobrenome “Parada”.

protetor.jpeg
Foto: Essa sou eu em Portugal.

Eu sou professora de Educação Física nas escolas públicas da cidade de Praia Grande (litoral de São Paulo) e também dou aulas em universidades. Além disso, estou fazendo doutorado, sou pesquisadora, palestrante, criadora de conteúdo, amante da natureza e bodysurfer. Para vocês me conhecerem melhor, vou dividir minha história em algumas partes até chegarmos aqui na Hive.

Como eu me tornei profissional de Educação Física e pesquisadora?

Eu sempre amei praticar esportes e quando eu era criança eu tinha um problema na coluna bem sério. Quanto mais eu praticava esporte, especialmente futebol, mais dores eu sentia nas costas. Até que um dia meus pais me colocaram em um grupo de capoeira e eu nunca mais senti dor. Então meu amor pelo esporte foi crescendo cada vez mais até que eu decidi, aos 14 anos de idade, que seria professora de Educação Física um dia. Em 2012 eu entrei na faculdade de Educação Física e Esporte aos 17 anos de idade e me formei em 2015. Na faculdade eu conheci a ciência, me apaixonei por isso e fui a primeira aluna do curso de Educação Física a publicar um artigo científico em uma revista científica.

research_unisanta.jpg
Foto: Pesquisa científica desenvolvida com nadadores profissionais da Universidade onde eu me graduei em Educação Física.

No ano seguinte eu iniciei os estudos no Mestrado em Ecologia. Sim, eu decidi me envolver em um curso ambiental, pois eu amo a natureza desde que me entendo como ser humano. E em 2022 eu ingressei no curso de Doutorado em Ciência e Tecnologia Ambiental, onde o foco da minha tese está no esporte como ferramenta de engajamento e conexão do ser humano com o problema do lixo plástico nas praias. E desde então eu venho pesquisando e publicando artigos científicos, inclusive você pode saber mais clicando aqui (http://lattes.cnpq.br/6208049925203839). E neste ano (2023) eu me tornei professora de Educação Física nas escoladas da Prefeitura Municipal de Praia Grande (São Paulo).

Curiosidade: minha primeira viagem internacional foi à trabalho e eu ministrei uma clínica de natação competitiva para atletas da Bolívia, na cidade de Tarija. Foi incrível e depois eu ministrei mais uma clínica para outros atletas bolivianos.

swimming_tarija.jpg

Foto: Clínica de natação para atletas bolivianos.

Como eu me tornei bodysurfer?

Na faculdade eu aprendi a pegar onda de bodyboard e funboard. Mas quando eu ia à praia, meu pai sempre praticava bodysurf (aqui no Brasil chamamos também de “jacaré”). Então o bodysurf sempre esteve ao meu lado desde sempre. E através da internet eu encontrei informações sobre prancha de mão para bodysurf, conhecida como handplane / handboard. Eu acabei comprando uma para presentear um amigo e depois fiz uma para mim com a ajuda do meu pai. Daí em diante eu não parei mais de praticar esse esporte maravilhoso que me permite sentir a força da natureza ao estar em contato direto com a onda. Não importa para onde eu viaje, para onde eu vá, eu sempre levo um par de nadadeiras e uma handplane. É assim que eu vivo.

_MG_1207.jpg
Foto: Eu em uma linda onda em Fernando de Noronha, registrada por Maíra Kellermann.

Viajando o mundo e vivendo com a natureza ao meu lado

Depois que eu terminei o Mestrado em 2018, eu fiz um mochilão para a Europa durante 33 dias. Eu conheci a Espanha, França, Itália e Portugal. E essa viagem foi incrível porque eu estava sozinha, sem acesso à internet. Então eu usava mapas físicos que eu mesma criei para chegar nos lugares que eu queria e podia conhecer muitas pessoas ao longo dessa jornada. Nessa viagem eu dei preferência para a natureza, então eu visitei muitas ilhas, praias, trilhas, etc. Aqui vai uma outra curiosidade: meu avô e outros familiares nasceram na Espanha, mais especificamente na região da Galícia. Então eu conquistei minha dupla cidadania, me tornando brasileira e espanhola.

bodysurf_spain.jpg

Foto: Bodysurf na Galícia, Espanha.

Em 2018 comecei a me engajar com a Route Brasil (https://www.instagram.com/routebrasil/), responsável por fazer um trabalho lindo em prol da natureza. Imediatamente eu me encantei pelas ações da Route e nosso encontro foi 1 ano depois na ilha de Fernando de Noronha, onde conheci pessoalmente o Simão (co-fundador da Route) e a Fernanda, duas pessoas maravilhosas que amam a natureza e lutam muito por um mundo melhor. Atualmente sou embaixadora da Route Brasil!

route_noronha.jpg

Foto: Eu, Simão e Fernanda após limparmos a praia em Fernando de Noronha.

A propósito, em 2019 eu fui aprovada para ser voluntária no Parque Nacional Marinho de Fernando de Noronha. Se vocês não conhecem a ilha de Fernando de Noronha eu preciso dizer que vocês precisam muito fazer isso. É um lugar fantástico com uma biodiversidade muito rica, onde eu mergulhava e surfava diariamente ao lado de tartarugas, tubarões e outros animais marinhos incríveis. Foram 6 meses incríveis da minha vida.

noronha_turtle.jpg
Foto: Mergulhando com essa linda tartaruga em Fernando de Noronha.

Como eu me tornei criadora de conteúdo?

Em 2018 eu percebi que não havia um canal no YouTube sobre bodysurf. Ninguém estava fazendo vídeos dando dicas de bodysurf, entrevistando bodysurfers e etc. Então eu me planejei e no início de 2019 eu criei meu canal (https://www.youtube.com/ElaNoMar) e comecei a postar conteúdos semanalmente. A minha estadia na ilha de Fernando de Noronha facilitou muito a criação de conteúdo para o canal porque eu conheci muitas pessoas. Então eu não falava somente sobre bodysurf, mas também sobre assuntos relacionados aos oceanos e à natureza. Eu consegui uma audiência muito boa, assim como apoiadores e patrocinadores também. Mas em 2022, principalmente por conta da minha nova rotina de estudos e trabalho, precisei parar com as atividades no conteúdo. Eu percebi que o pouco tempo que eu tinha para surfar estava sendo ocupado com gravações para o meu canal no Youtube. E para ser honesta, eu estava ficando muito triste com isso. Então eu decidi parar de criar conteúdo para o YouTube, mas no Instagram você pode encontrar muito sobre a minha rotina no mar (https://www.instagram.com/paradaleticia/). Ah, e desde 2019 eu produzo conteúdos relacionados ao bodysurf para o Surfguru e o Aloha Spirit Midia, dois sites que eu sou muito grata por terem me dado espaço para falar sobre o que eu amo!

Como eu cheguei na web3, mais especificamente na Hive?

Alguns amigos do Surfguru começaram a fazer um movimento majestoso para surfarem a onda da web3. Não vou citar todos aqui que me inspiraram a pegar essa onda também, mas preciso destacar a @crisciacm porque foi ela quem me encorajou a entrar na comunidade e fez o meu onboard para estar aqui. Poderia pedir mais? Com certeza não! Parece que as pessoas certas vão surgindo ao longo do nosso caminho quando mais precisamos!
E aqui na Hive eu vou compartilhar muito sobre a minha jornada e isso envolve diversos esportes (não apenas o bodysurf), a ciência, a natureza e muito mais! Conto com vocês para surfamos juntos nessa onda por um mundo melhor e mais leve!

noronha.jpeg
Foto: Continue sorrindo, a vida é linda.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
46 Comments