Tawa-Tawa Plant (Asthma Weed)

tawa-tawa.jpg
Image Source

I got sick last week and thanks be to God I'm feeling better now. I spent my weekend eating out and window shopping with my children and simply celebrated my Son’s 13th birthday. I was well rested too. Now, I regained the energy I really need to share with you guys, one of the topics I really wanted to discuss.

If you are going to ask me which of these plants I have is my most favorite? It’s the Tawa-Tawa plants, Gatas Gatas (milky juice plant) or Asthma weed which has a scientific name of Euphorbia hirta. Why?

263185417_702572940704513_4400646499538839349_n.jpg

Here in the Philippines “tawa” means laugh or laughing. So. This plant must be a happy plant then. Agree?

Firstly, my eldest son is asthmatic. It’s hereditary, got from his dad’s side. Every cure, medicines, herbal/weed, healthy diet, physical activities, discoveries/breakthroughs about effective treatment is very important to me. It’s hard seeing your child going through some physical pain because of an illness they do not deserve. Especially, seeing your child catching breath because he’s having difficulty breathing.

I learned about this weed from my mum and it became famous because of dengue cases. When I was younger I was seeing this plant/weed everywhere. It’s a hairy weed/herb that grows in open grasslands, pathways, or even roadsides. It’s not something that you really have to take care of. It just grows everywhere. I am not sure if this plant can survive all weather. We have a tropical climate and yes we have this weed/plant growing here.

This is my tawa-tawa plant in a pot. I just found it here by accident when I was trimming wild grass that had overgrown onto the sidewalk.

262819759_475301537487480_3639324179691836403_n.jpg

Here in my country, the Philippines, Tawa-Tawa is marked for it’s properties and the most popular folkloric treatment for dengue fever.

I remember when my son suffered from dengue fever, this was during the pandemic. It’s really hard to find a hospital that has available rooms. His pediatrician advised us to have him admitted for monitoring. His blood platelets dropped as per the initial blood test results and experienced all the symptoms. We luckily talked to the administration of one hospital nearby our area and was advised to wait for a call for room availability. While waiting, we thought of giving him tawa-tawa tea though I was a bit hesitant at first. My mum gave him this tea twice a day. Fortunately, we got a call and were able to admit my son. He stayed at the hospital for 4 days and was able to recover quickly. I believe the tea has helped to increase blood platelets production.

Disclaimer: We are not experts in administering this herbal tawa-tawa tea. The information provided is not intended to be a substitute for medical treatment. Please consult your medical care provider before using herbal medicine.

Tawa-Tawa plants contain triterpenes, phytosterols, tannins, polyphenols, and flavonoids. Through research, I found out that these plants/herbs can also help various health conditions like the following:

Bronchitis and Asthma

The Tawa-Tawa serves as a bronchodilator for the patient to breathe properly.

Skin Boils and Wounds

Diarrhea

Dengue

It really can help in treating dengue fever. However, it should not be used for the first three days of the stages of dengue.

Lowering Blood Pressure

It has an angio-Tenzin enzyme that can reduce the urine output of your body.

Aids in Increasing the Production of Platelets

Relaxing Agent for the Mind

Anti- bacterial effect

and many more.

Reference:
https://www.practicalhealthandwellnesssolutions.com/tawa-tawa-leaves-asthma-plant-benefits-euphorbia-hirta/

Preparing your Tawa-Tawa Tea

Take 5-6 whole Tawa Tawa plants.
Remove the roots, then wash and clean.
Boil Tawa Tawa in a half a liter (500 ml) pot of clean water for 5 minutes.
Pour the liquid in a container using a strainer on top of the pitcher or container to filter. Cool it down and add honey (optional)
Serve 3 to 4 glasses of Tawa tawa tea a day
to dengue patient

download.jpg
Image Source

There are also pharmacies who already sell tawa-tawa capsules in case this plant is not available.

Take a good look in our surroundings and you will find all the miracles you need.

Until the next time. Let’s talk again later.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center