My Favorite Blue Flower Pea

What is your New year resolution? We are not getting any younger are we? Let's be fit and healthy this 2022. This is one my goals this year. As omicron surges globally, we should take all the precautionary measures to avoid being in a hospital bed or alone for quarantine. And so the search for miracle plants and herbs continues.

My research for this herb/plant started when my brother was diagnosed with bipolar disease mid 2021. It was a painful experience and it's really hard to deal with it. My brother somehow lost touch with reality.
And since then I've been searching for an alternative herbal medicine that will be of help in treating anxiety and depression. And that's when I found how this plant can help lessen depression and anxiety. What a miracle herb it is!

I spent my New Year in my hometown where I grew up and spent most of my childhood. Together with my family we spent our New Year with bliss and peace.

When we arrived last Dec 29th, something caught my attention, something from our front yard. My mum's blue butterfly pea plant is full grown now with flowers blossoming. I was excited because I can make a blue pea tea now direct from our front yard. Also noticed that most of our neighbors have this plant in their garden. What a lovely sight!

This tea has subtle, exotic and earthy taste. I bet that strong and unique taste of the flower makes it even more beneficial to health. I even mixed it with honey and lemon. I thought I'll get used to it but the problem is I do not have this plant available everytime.

271187878_472049941321380_3886069481260441518_n.jpg

271946753_4181997775236380_632639914233059158_n.jpg

But what is butterfly pea plant?

The scientific name is Clitoria ternatea? This plant is a native plant in Asia. Aside from the fact that we can steep this flower as a herbal tea it is also use as natural dye for drinks, food or even textiles.

I was amazed also about how the color of the tea changed when I tried it. The color is purple turning to blue when acid like lemon is mixed.

Here's how I prepare this plan as a tea

How To Make Blue Pea Tea:

It's simple. Just boil some blue pea flower petals in water for 5 minutes. You can add lemon grass or mint if you want to make it more refreshing. Then put some honey to this with a squeeze of lemon and serve warm before meals or after meals. You can also have this tea before bed to promote healthy sleep.

blue tea.jpg

Hope you like it. How about you? What's the color of your tea? Let's talk later!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center