Healing gum infection and wisdom tooth problems with natural medicine 🌿

Hi, welcome to my post. It's been a while since I did anything on herbal medicine but now it is very much deserved to share this experience as I feel very grateful for the effectiveness of the treatment detailed here. Hope you find it useful and learn something from it.

The gum surrounding my wisdom tooth got infected, causing great pain. I don't normally get infections, but to be honest I've been eating too much oatmeal to avoid cooking.

I researched which herbs could help me to endure this situation better and the first suggestions that I had access nearby were sage, yarrow, and peppermint.

Peppermint, sage, and yarrow.

Sage:

Yarrow:

  • Antiseptic
  • Antiinflamatory
  • Astringent (tightens loose tissues)
  • Syptic (can stop bleeding)

Peppermint:

  • Antiinflamatory
  • Mild antibacterial

I made some tea from the three herbs and used it as a moth rinse which would immediately bring relief to my pain, as well as drinking it.

At night I would place some peppermint between my swollen area and the cheek as I would tend to hurt myself with the tension, causing more inflammation.

It took me about a week to get back to relatively normal. At least I can eat without pain and sleep peacefully again. I would say this is a very good result considering other cases of gum infection or wisdom tooth problems that require about the same amount of time and a lot of spending money on dentists and medicine.

After a while I felt I had taken too much from the sage in my garden so I varied the mix a little adding rose hips (high in vitamin C) and plantain which is also antiinflamatory and has a tradition of oral health usage.

As of today, I have recovered my dental health without visiting the dentist, which proves the effectiveness of these herbs.

Some extra details about my treatment

  • I rinsed often, every time I was feeling discomfort I would both rinse and drink the herbal infusion.
  • I aided the process by chewing on the raw herbs often.
  • I avoided all refined sugars and ate only nutrient dense foods (less carbs, more minerals and vitamins)
  • I brushed the gum until it bled once which provided great relief but I was told this wasn't recommended so I avoided doing it again. Thank God, it wasn't necessary.
  • I smoked cannabis a few times and did self healing sessions, taking a close look at the psychological factors that could be causing my pain which was actually very helpful.
  • I also rinsed with salted water a few times but it didn't provide as much relief as the herbs did.

That's pretty much what I did and now I'm enjoying my normal life, very grateful to have it back. A wisdom tooth is a terrible thing but in my case it taught me a lot and made me value things I was taking for granted. It also provided an opportunity to set aside the daily grinds and focus more on myself and what was going on inside.

I hope you enjoyed the post, till next time!


Herbal properties info sourced from here with the exception of the linked info before.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now