Crafting the Most Portable Medicine

I know better than anyone that persuading friends and family to try herbal medicine is an uphill battle. In the country where I grew up herbs are very often seen as "alternative" medicine that cannot stand up to the much newer pharmaceuticals. Here in the Herbal Hive community we are all familiar with the power of plants. But, how to share this medicine with those who still don't?

Drinking tea is a big part of my life. Barely a day goes by with out a cup or two (or three of four) of herbs from my own garden. Most folks don't have the time or patience to brew a pot of herbs though. That is where herbal tinctures come in and this week I gave myself the task of sorting through all my jars of tinctures and re-packaging them into convenient to use bottles.

The first step was to sterilize the tincture bottles. I started by washing them by hand then threw them in the dish washer. There was a bit of humidity so I put them in clean ceramics in the hot (100 degrees F!!!) sun for about an hour.

Back in the kitchen I started filtering the jars of tincture that still had herbs in them. Some of these tinctures were made by my mom a couple of months ago. Others however have been macerating for longer. This is unfortunate as tinctures should only macerate for 4 to 6 weeks. I am not one to let medicine go to waste. So, these tinctures may be a bit bitter, oh well!

Most of the tinctures turned out just fine. Those that had been forgotten for a few years I did compost alongside all of the herb material that I separated from the alcohol.

Then, using a sterilized funnel I poured the finished tinctures into the tincture bottles. I have found that people are more likely to use tinctures if they are in easy to use. And as these bottles can be stored in a medicine cabinet, on the kitchen counter, or even in a purse they are indeed very easy to use and accessible.

Finally, and very importantly, came the labeling! Even if I think I will remember which tincture is which I never do. As soon as a tincture is in a container of any kind it should be labeled and here at my parent's place there is a label maker to make the job quick and easy. Otherwise I usually make labels by hand. The labels should state what the tincture contains, for example the herbs and type of alcohol used and even the recommended use.

And there, it is done! Now years of medicine making will fuel years of healthy living. yay!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center