The nuns and yogis in Yangon, Myanmar - My second beloved family.

It has been a long long time since I ended my mortifying trip in Myanmar and some Asean countries. Yesterday, one of my Burmese friend texted to me and asked me “my life in Viet Nam is ok?” and “When can we have a chance to meet again?”. It made me remember my promise with the sacred land for Buddhist.

IMG_1534.JPG

Yangon, is one of the most destination that I still got the vivid memories, seem like yesterday indeed. We knew each other when I reached to Yangon from Mandalay and looked for a shelter for a night. This place is a branch of Thabarwa monastery located in Thalyin, Myanmar. She cleaned and prepared a small bed for me. I stayed in the area that is reserved for nun only. There are 6 nuns in this room with the age from 50 – 70 years old. They treated me very well, and asked me a lot of things about my journey. Obviously they cannot use English, most of that time, we just use gesture, eyes contact and the support from the nun manager (She is the only one using English here). You can imagin a mime on the stage, the actors only use gesture and some movement of body parts to exaggrate the meaning that they wanna present. We laughed a lot and gained an understanding of each other’s life.

IMG_1530.JPG

IMG_1533.JPG

IMG_1537.JPG

They have become nun and yogis from a young age, it is just like a sacred traditional of Burmese people as I know via their story. In a family, the parents would look up to their child if they come out willingly ( we often call ordination). The purpose of this action is to complete theirselves, practise the good things and deny the bad one in life. Follow the foot print of Buddha.

Till the next morning, before saying goodbye and expressing my heart to them, I wished them to take some photos in order to enrish those precious memories. With a loving attitude, they agreed without any hesitance. To be honest, they reminisced of my grandmother a lot. My grandmother is the same age with them, even the shape and demeanour.

IMG_1532.JPG

IMG_1544.JPG

IMG_1531.JPG

IMG_1542.JPG

Yangon is a bustling city in my memory, the people here are extreme chummy and lovely, they treat other people like their immediate family. In the end, I had the second extended family, it is all my beloved friends here.
I would to share some pictures of them to all of you, thought I am Vietnamese people, Myanmar seems like the second country in my heart utterly. See you soon in my plan, Yangon!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now