What I Wanted and What I Got; a Weekend Story

Life does not go as planned

There may be times when all want in life takes place but most of it doesn't. Sometimes it does not matter but sometimes it hurts like crazy.

Last Saturday, I said I wanted to chill a little bit, enjoying life and celebrate little wins
but as the day rolled to end, I received a message from my team in the basketball that the game will start as soon as 7 am.

Then there goes my plan in ditch.

Wife was a bit disappointed but what can we do, it's part of my job and we already agreed to referee all the way to championship.

So there I went at 8am, an hour late. Are you familiar with Filipino time? We're always late and there is no point in getting there early because all you have to do is wait.

It's been years since I left work to look after our kids. The wife and I does not completely trust nannies and my neices left for the city to go to school. Now that our kids are bigger and requires less attention, I made ways to earn by attending games as referee not only in amateur boxing but also in basketball.

I'm lucky enough my wife supports me for she knows I am really into sports and now I can make a living thru it. Payment comes after Championship games though but there are. Local games that pays right after.

In the morning, the JBC team played and it was a bit boring.

I don't know if the player has not heated up yet or they did it on purpose; it was already in the third quarter yet the scores are still 11 and 21.

I invited my wife to come over to my game but said she was too busy cleaning and doing the laundry.

The first game finished past 11 in the morning and they gave us free lunch.

In the afternoon, the El Quarentas(players are 40 years old and above) game started. They were on the fourth game (elimination).

The game finished at 8 in the evening and the food that were for the committees were shared by the players 😅. Games can make everyone starving!

All the while, they borrowed my phone and used for music and shotclock.


There were only a few of us to referee the game as other referees has their own reasons not to attend.

All day of running and watching players got me very tired that my feet numbs and my sweat non-stop.

It was not the Weekend planned yet it was still fun. Basketball games are exciting and the people that you meet are extraordinary! Players comes from different walks of life and it's nice to meet new friends and acquainances.

I've made a lot of friends in the court and had remained friends even outside. Sometimes whenever I drive, I see them and they call me or I call them and exchange smiles.

Basketball games, just like amateur boxing is not only good in physical health but also good in gaining friendship, lengthening patience and more.

I'm looking forward to the next game on Sunday. I'm sure lots of surprises awaits.

This will be all for now, thank you for the time and support. See ya.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center