ASEAN Hive Community Challenge #118: Dealing With Power Cuts



It's another week of ASEAN Hive Community Challenge. I've been inactive the past weeks, but I was finally able to join last week. Luckily, I could also do so this time around.

For this week's ASEAN Hive Community Challenge, the topic is Dealing With Power Cuts.



As mentioned in the Community Challenge Post announcement, power cuts isn't rare in most Southeast Asian countries... and that includes here in the Philippines. It's quite a struggle especially for me who works from home and has no power source backup or generator. I'd have to cancel my classes if an outage occurred while I'm working. Well, I could be excused from paying a penalty by procuring an outage certificate, but of course, I still won't get paid.

I really want to have a backup power source that's enough to at least use my PC, so I won't need to cancel my classes, but they're expensive. T_T

Rainy season has started last month and from this month, we had lots of rain each week. It's great in a way that I won't have to use the air conditioner for a long time compared to warm-dry season. However, during the current season, we'd have to deal with the possibility of more power outages.

Just last week, I cancelled three classes because of a power outage which lasted almost two hours. It happened at night and it was raining cats and dogs.

As I've mentionoed, we don't have a backup power source enough to turn on a PC, but I have the following items to at least survive the outage.





This power bank only has 10000mAh, but it helped us a lot especially when we didn't have electricity following a typhoon a couple years back. I've had this for almost 4-5 years and it still works really well. :)





I originally used this small USB ring light for my classes when I had low quality camera. I'm using a better camera for my work now, so I use this for emergency like power outages or when I'm drawing something. I can connect this with my power bank.





This is a battery operated light we got as a gift from my bestie. It's useful especially when we have to go from one room to another because it's light and handy. We mostly use it for that purpose when there's power outage at night.





This one is a rechargeable flashlight, light and fan. We can also use batteries to operate it... and the light part also has a small solar panel we could use to recharge it if the first two options don't apply. I've been using this one for years now and it has been very reliable.





Lastly, I have this USB fan with light and humidifier. I mostly connect it to an adaptor when I use it as a humidifier. Well, I generally use the humidifier for this device, but it's also really useful when there's a power outage especially when it's very hot. I can connect the USB to my power bank and use the fan which has three levels. In addition, we can also use the humidifier function as a cooling function by adding some ice or cold water in it.

Since the temperature these days hasn't been very high, I need not use the cooling function. :) It would be awesome to have another one of this device someday.

Although I don't have an alternative power souce as a backup, these little devices I have at home help us deal with such a situation somehow. Hopefully, there wouldn't be any power outages in the days to come.

Thanks for reading and see you around! (^^,)/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center