My Nephew's First Birthday




Going back about four months ago, we celebrated my nephew's first birthday. My brother delivered the invitation few days before the birthday.

Our eldest brother and father don't attend such parties or any gatherings so as usual it's going to be just me representing the family. My brother then was kind enough to allow me to bring a friend but I felt shy inviting her because she's a busy person even though she lives just a few minutes away from the venue. I asked him to invite her instead. My friend agreed surprisingly and sent me a message after about the details and the time we are meeting outside the venue.

My nephew's birthday was held at a fast food restaurant and was scheduled to begin at 1 P.M. Of course, the unprepared aunt still haven't bought a gift so she went out before 11 A.M. to look for a gift at a mall. But! When aunt reached the mall, she decided to have her haircut first.



1000013194.jpg

My last haircut was still in 2023 and I actually don't know how to style my hair that's why I decided to go to the salon to have it trimmed and blow dried. I got my turn after waiting for almost 30 minutes. The hairdresser recommended that I avail their collagen and scalp treatment after examining my hair. I have dry hair and my scalp is probably not that healthy as well. I told the hairdresser that I would try it next time because i still have somewhere to go to. Has anyone tried collagen or the scalp treatment? How was it?

I got out of the salon just a few minutes after 12 and quickly dropped by Miniso to look for a plushie, the only gift I could think of for my nephew. I totally forgot Blue Magic also has a store in that mall, I guess they have better plushies there.

After also purchasing a paper bag and a snack, I rushed out of the mall and rode a tricycle to another mall where the buses enroute to my destination would usually stop by. The tricycle driver charged me Php150 just for a short distance. He was initially charging Php 200. The driver took advantage of the road situation as it was closed to buses and jeepneys during that time.



1000013193.jpg

I felt bad but I was in a hurry so I agreed the Php150 just to get to the bus stop as soon as possible. The tricycle driver was even suggesting that he would drive me straight to my destination and I firmly declined because aside from overpriced charge, my hair would get tangled from the strong wind.



1000013192.jpg

I got into the bus around 12:40 and got to fix my gift on the paper bag. (Umbrella not included. Lol.) I even forgot to buy a tape to seal the bag but thank goodness there are tutorial on how to close a paper bag without using tape or stapler.

I arrived about a quarter after 1. My friend also arrived at the venue just a few minutes before me.



1000013190.jpg

And since this is Philippines, it's not a surprise that the program still haven't begun when we came in the room. About only half of the seats were filled and most people were just beginning to arrive. We had time to take pictures and play this puzzle game on the table which only my friend enjoyed because I have no idea who the CoCoMelon characters are.



1000013196.jpg
1000013195.jpg

My friend and I.


The cake also arrived around 15 minutes later.


1000013191.jpg


The party was only scheduled for 2 hours and my sister-in-law's relatives were starting to get worried because it was already 30 minutes past 1 and my brother, sister-in-law, and nephew still haven't arrived. They kept asking me if I know their whereabouts and I said I have no idea. Aren't they the ones who should know because my brother's family lives only a few houses away from them?

Well, finally, they arrived 15 minutes before 2 P.M. and the program began shortly.



1000013189.jpg

Of course, it wouldn't be a kid's party without games for kids! I think the hosts prepared 3 games which the kids enjoyed. We also enjoyed watching the kids play and that one crew who was gracefully demonstrating the mechanics of the game.



1000013187.jpg

1000013188.jpg

1000013197.jpg

They also prepared one game for the adults and was unfortunately chosen to play. It was a group game so I whispered my friend's registration number to my brother so I wouldn't be alone in this embarrassment. Lol. And as expected, the group that I was in lost.



1000013185.jpg

Foods were distributed after. I was only able to eat the burger, fries, sundae, and drinks. My friend and I took home our spaghetti and fried chicken because it was already almost 3 P.M. The party was also on going so it's kind of difficult to eat. They even let the vice mayor of the town together with some companions to seat on our table. How can we eat in peace now.



1000013184.jpg

Grimmace, one of the fast food's mascots, appeared next and kids got really excited to play with the purple mascot. I wanted to take a photo with Grimmace too but there were already lots of guests gathered around for photos. And in less than 10 minutes the mascot was already ushered out of the room.



1000013183.jpg

1000013198.jpg


The last part of the program were the parents' messages to my nephew. The party was rushed which kept me wondering why my brother's family arrived so late. I assume they still went to a photo studio for a family photo because they were wearing the same clothes in the party. They could've scheduled that on a different day or right after the birthday party.



1000013182.jpg

I'm not even sure if my nephew enjoyed his birthday party as he was crying most of the time during the program. He probably didn't like the loud music and all the noises in the room.

This photo looks chaotic. My nephew crying, the host trying to explain the situation to the guests, the photographer smiling probably having a difficulty getting a proper photo of my nephew, and the parents doing their best to stop their child from crying. Look at them holding toys, lollipop, and milk bottle.



1000013186.jpg

We bid goodbye just as soon as most of the guests have left. My busy friend still has to check on her cafe business while I also have to leave early because riding public transportation takes longer.

My friend and I separated ways at the bus terminal. I was lucky the bus was empty when I got in so I was able to take a photo. I got home about an hour and a half later.



1000013181.jpg

Do you think holding such party for a first birthday is necessary when you're on a tight budget? I mean, the baby still won't remember what happens in the party anyway. You can just dine in at a restaurant with the immediate family and have the kid's party later on when the child begins to remember events. But it's still the parents' choice so I can only suggest. Haha.

So..Happy Birthday to my nephew! I wish your parents don't get late on your next party.




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center