Flash Flood in Shah Alam #2

Today most of the road that was submerged by yesterday's flood is now accessible for vehicles. Some places are still cut off, and some are still flooded but with lower water level.

Thankfully, my house are no affected since it is a high rise apartment. But the only entry and exit road into my apartment are cut off from the main road. I also consider myself lucky because during the flood, I and the kids are at my mom house in Taman Melawati. While my wife was at SACC Shah Alam for a 3 days boot camp.

I saw in the news, as of now throughout Malaysia, there are 9 casualty and one still missing. 7 of them are in Selangor area. One of the victim are from opposite apartment. His corpse was found when the flood water level subsided. Following link is the news article: https://www.kosmo.com.my/2021/12/19/lelaki-ditemui-lemas-lepas-banjir-surut/

I have no choice but to leave my motorbike really far from my apartment. Around 500 meters from my apartment, there is a flyover that is unaffected by the flood. Majority of the apartment residents park their motorbike there, including myself.

I am really thankful that I did not suffer any property damage, and my family is all safe. I consider myself more fortunate than the other victims


(picture) Motorbike are park at the roadside under the flyover.

I need to walk and go through the flood in order to get to my apartment. There is a makeshift pathway made by the residents that is only accessible by foot. From the flyover, it is a 10 to 15 minutes walk to my apartment.

Since there is a lot of other motorbike park at the flyover, I feel a bit safe to leave my motorbike. Because it might be late night before the flood water subside.

img_20211220_103135.jpg


(Picture) Houses damaged by flood

Just beside the entry / exit road to my apartment area, there is a small village. The village area are still flooded, and it was waist high. I can see the houses that are damaged by the flood.

The villagers are the most affected by this flood. I can see there are some of the villagers that were sleeping under the flyover. The most heartbreaking part for me is seeing kids the same age as my daughters sleeping on the ground, that is just covered using a thin cloth.

I can only imagine how sad the house resident must feel...

img_20211220_102731.jpg

img_20211220_102722.jpg

img_20211220_102727.jpg


(Picture) The entry and exit that is cut off from the main road.

This is the only and main entry / exit road to get out from my apartment area. next to the entry / exit road is a small river that streams out to Damansara River.

The small river has been blocked by debris carried by heavy rain and flood, thus obstructing the water from flowing out. The entry / exit road is also a bit sloped before merging to the main road.

When using the makeshift pathway, I can see two motorbike rider tries to cross the flood on their bike. But, halfway crossing the flood, their motorbike died and they have no choice but to tow their bike all the way out.

This is why I don't want to take any chances to cross the flood water using my motorbike I would rather walk than having it damaged by the flood. I took few more pictures of the flood.

As you can see, there were two cars that is stranded at the middle of the road. The owner of the black car is nearby and he just arrived with a tow truck. I overheard his conversation with the tow truck driver. The tow truck said he can't tow the car now. He need to wait until the water level dropped even more. I can see the sadness on the car owner's face

Before getting home, I stop by at the grocery shop to purchase some cookies or bread and instant noodle to be made as donation. Unfortunately, when I was at the grocery shop, most of the shelf were empty...

img_20211220_102620.jpg

img_20211220_103242.jpg

img_20211220_103318.jpg

img_20211220_103325.jpg

img_20211220_103439.jpg

img_20211220_103547.jpg

img_20211220_103553.jpg

img_20211220_103641.jpg

img_20211220_103931.jpg

img_20211220_103938.jpg


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now