A Nature Walk Into The Forest - With Amazing Insects And Wildflowers

Wednesday Walk - Make Me Smile ...22.09.2021 Edition

It´s officially the start of Autumn today in Europe and the days are becoming shorter and the nights longer. We were lucky to have fine weather with temps of around 30° - 32°C last week. Around the start of this week, the temperatures were falling to around 18°C maximum. I felt a relief now that I have cleaned the balcony where I have my container plants weeks before. Except for the peppers and the berries, the three container tomatoes are gone.

Screenshot 2021-09-22 19.05.27.png

My walk edition for today had happened in the nearby surrounding fields of our complex. Every time the weather permits, I simply take a walk and make snapshots of the things that I find nice as I walk through. Last Sunday had been lovely for a walk and I was able to capture some fascinating insects you might have seen or known.

IMG_1116.JPG
Borage (borago officinales) is used as a herb and medicinal plant and it has a very nice bloom which look like wild orchids

IMG_0894.JPG

Silene noctiflora...Their flowers usually open in the night with a lovely scent attracting insects.

IMG_1094.JPG
It looks like a variety of the Fireweed.

IMG_1132.JPG

Into the forest...

My walk intensified and I found myself in the nearby forest of Esslinger Furt. It is actually part of the Donau Auen National Park. The small stream is a continuation of the ponds in Saltenwerk, another entrance to the National Park.

IMG_0892.JPG

IMG_1119.JPG

As I went farther, I passed the small wooden bridge that enables the bikers to pass into a long biking route ahead. I found that the leaves of the trees in the forest were still so thick and very green, in a couple of days, they will start to become yellow and eventually fall off the trees.

IMG_1127.JPG
On a hot Summer day, this small stream is dry so that you can also walk under the bridge. Its water is still flowing now because it rained a couple of weeks. The water flows toward the direction of Slovakia.

IMG_1101.JPG
I found some dandelions that are worth capturing.

IMG_1070.JPG
This red bug had been busy preying those small insects

IMG_1077.JPG How I wish I have this lady bug in my container garden because they eat all the aphids on plants as well as other insects.

IMG_1121.JPG

Last Summer during school holidays, this small stream was full of kids guided by their parents. Now that school has begun, this is now a quiet place and one could only hear the chirping of the birds and the swaying of the trees in the forest when the wind blows. One can sit in the banks provided along the path, take a rest , maybe meditate or simply enjoy looking at nature.

IMG_1122.JPG

IMG_1130.JPG

My small walk came to an end and I had to go back since it will take me some 30 minutes to walk home. It had been a lovely side trip to the woods and it #MademeSmile... I will surely come back!

I thank @tattoodjay and @elizacheng for this wonderful collaboration.

IMG_20210919_131148.jpg

All images were photographed by me, @mers using Canon EOS 90D

Lens: Canon EFS 18-135mm


GIF by @Gremayo.gif

GIF/Banner by @gremayo

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center