From Garden to Hospital

Today, after having biscuits and hot chocolate for breakfast, I sharpened a small machete we call 'gagamas' and went to the backyard to clear and pull out the weeds that had started growing.

The main area I focused on was the spot where we plan to plant cucumbers. This area was used for cucumbers before but had been left for nearly two months without any plants. The old raffia string used for tying was rotting, so I planned to clean and replace it today. Pulling weeds all the way to their roots requires a lot of patience and care. I put the pulled weeds into a bin and disposed of them at the collection spot. These weeds are also great for making compost once they decompose.

I worked from morning until noon. When I was about to rest, my child complained of chest pain. My tiredness turned into worry about my child's condition. After cleaning up and taking a shower, we went to the hospital’s emergency unit. My child has asthma, and the last time we brought him to the hospital for this was last month. At the hospital, they gave him oxygen, did an x-ray, and took blood tests. We waited several hours for the results. According to the doctor, there was a slight infection in my child's lungs, but the blood results were fine, with no infection. After receiving the medication, we were allowed to go home. We spent almost five hours at the hospital waiting for the results. My child rested on a bed in the emergency unit while we waited. Tomorrow, I will return to the hospital to get antibiotics. We are grateful that even though there was a small lung infection, it wasn’t serious, and we could go home because the blood and oxygen levels were good. We continue to pray for our child's complete recovery from asthma.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center