Lights Spark in the Dark: Fantasy becomes Alive

Blinding lights, tiny to enormous floats, costumes, and a wink of excitement made a fantastic night that still lingers in my head.

Colorful Abstract and Typographic Local Film Festival YouTube Banner.png

It was on the night of October 31st when a once-in-a-year celebration took place. It seemed people who hadn't experienced Halloween night with a glimmer of sparkling lights and a parade of various figures and floats for a long time due to the pandemic came out and let themselves immersed in a crowd of people to witness such a celebration.

image.png

image.png

The first float is a giant ark with our Honorable Mayor in it and some other prominent individuals. The motif seemed to be the Pirates of the Caribbean, and it was awesomely cool with those flashing lights and creative costumes.

312918043_703262454055484_7867471785597545993_n.gif

Hmm, it seemed like a floating ark.

image.png

Have you ever dreamed of seeing a pumpkin vehicle like what we can see in Disney and other shows? In this year's Raniag Festival Float Parade in Vigan, it was made possible. It's not really made up of a pumpkin, but it looked like one, right?

image.png

It's me in my cool shades I bought for only about 1 dollar while the parade is still going on. I have to be honest, though the blow of the wind is quite cold since it's Christmas season already, I still felt sweaty because, of course, the number of people watching and the distance to each other is relatively not a good thing. It's normal, though, so I don't see a problem with it.

image.png

There are some fairies' floats as well that vary distinctly from one another. But if there is one thing common to all, that is the led lights that come in different colors. I can truly feel how the others are amazed because even I cannot doubt it.

image.png

Maleficent seemed to have flown afar just to come here and for others to see her; just kidding. But take a look at how resourceful the ones who made it are. Being fierce is an understatement, but those lights? This float of Maleficent is more than just incredible.

image.png

And oh, are The Professor and the rest of the team out for a new mission? It seems like they're just parading in this picture. What do you think?

image.png

Mugunghwa Kkoci Pieot Seumnida

image.png

image.png

As soon as I saw this big doll on the float parade, it's as it brought chills within me. I watched the Squid Game Series, and I must say, it was thrilling. It reminded me again how painful the scenes are for various characters that people loved from the series.

image.png

The Baluarte Zoo is such a great place to visit, and on this night, it found its way to bring it concisely to the crowd for everyone to see. The animals must have been so happy too.

image.png

The pandemic really takes a heavy toll on us, and showcasing in this parade how our front liners and every one of us fights this virus, I am amazed and feel a great salutation to everyone, especially for being resilient.

Here are other floats showcasing Super Mario, Barbie and Ken, the gods and goddesses, and the band, among others, that made the night absolutely fascinating.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

313311043_644730127148565_8875382566402791368_n.gif

I feel famished after watching, and good thing is, the city offered free Arroz Caldo and Vigan Pipian that night. It somehow satisfied my hunger, but I still ate when I arrived home.

Though I was partly exhausted, I definitely enjoyed the night. Hopefully, you also felt the experience, especially the excitement I had, even if it's just presented in this blog virtually. Thank you!

Truly, fantasy comes alive when it gets dark.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now