Songkhla zoo, Hatyai, Thailand Part 1

After around half an hour drive from Hatyai, we finally reached Songkhla zoo. I initially asked some local Tuk-Tuk drivers if they would bring us to the zoo here but they did not want. This zoo is huge. It takes a long time to explore the whole place and no walking would be enough. So, a car is required. The ticket prices are quite affordable.

Songkhla Zoo

The first thing that I saw was this. T rex and Happy New Year 2023. While I was there, I saw lot of school kids who were also here on a school trip. This place is huge.

There is a crocodile, giraffe, and many a....
Why? An animal in a huge enclosure. Some of the main attractions have only one animal. hahaha.. Well, that being said, at least they've got lots of space to stay.

The tortoises

I have a soft heart towards these cute little reptiles. I just enjoy looking at tortoises. They are so calm.

I forgot what the names of these tortoises.

So many different species of tortoises.

Hello friend

Just chillin on top of a rock.

Pig nose turtle

These are really cute to look at with those flippers.

Snapping tortoise

I would not want to get my hands near one. I have seen videos where after one these deadly bites, the finger suddenly rots and it rots to the bone. Maybe due to some enzyme in its saliva. This is one tortoise no one wants to mess with.

The one crocodile

Yes, this is the one crocodile in this particular enclosure. haha.. But at least he's got everything for himself or herself.

The other crocodile

in another enclosure. It just stood still with its mouth opened waiting for food.

Sulcatas

The African spurred tortoise. These are definitely my favourite tortoise. I've got one at home. They created an enclosure that replicates some of the conditions of what it would have faced in its native homeland. The question is that, after generations of being in Asia, does it still need the conditions of its ancestors or they actually are more of an Asian tortoise after a couple of generations being in Asia? This is a question that I have yet have an answer. One thing is true is that its genetics are still intact.

The huge king

It's great to see one in person in real life that is so big. They just move so calmly. No hurry.

The couple

This is part 1 of my visit to Songkhla zoo. It's too big to be written into a post in one entry. This is day two in Hatyai. A day later, and it would be the last day.


The prior post to this

A morning in Hatyai
@luueetang/morning-in-hatyai

A new day in Hatyai.
@luueetang/a-new-day-in-hatyai

Central Festival mall, Hatyai
@luueetang/thai-food-at-central-festival

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center