The struggle of time management

I have a god, and God allow me to have 24 hours a day. I don't know if you have one, but we are all equal, having 24 hours a day. That makes time management is the only difference between someone who have lots of time to do lots of thing, compare to someone who achieve very little over a very long span of time. Seemingly busy, but accomplish nothing.

img_0.795917033470596

I've always been having issue with my time management. It's in my blueprint. Since I was young, I already learn the technique from my mom, turn the clock and advanced 15 minutes. So we think we will not be late anymore.

img_0.7915157155572144

And guess what, we're still late, EVERYTIME. That 15 minutes advance already in the book, naturally our mind will subtract that quarter hours out from the equation. My children inherited the same style from me, which I'm gonna blame it to my mom now 🤣

img_0.660064157832052

You see, it's not the clock, it's our character. We can set the clock 30 minutes advance, or even 1 hour. It does matter if we decided to be late, we will find all kind of excuse to offset that advancement. Deep in our head, we know it's 1 hour advance, and we will sit back and finally late again.

img_0.8207006559468013

I used to have a friend, also known as mentor to me since he's way senior than me in the industry. He's the guy whose always first one to be there. Even if we set a dinner appointment by 7pm, he usually will be in that area by 6pm.

img_0.8535888794569879

So there's one time, our appointment was in the morning 7:30am. I found out I've got a flat tire by 7:15am. That's like 15 minutes and I believe I'm not going to make it on time. So I have him a call saying I had a flat tire, may be arriving slightly late.

img_0.09174743423811044

And so I am late, probably by 10 minutes only. I sent my apology for being late due to the flat tire, and I got an instant sarcastic treatment. Apology does not replaced the loss 10 minutes. Instead of apology, "thank you for waiting" is way more positive than apologies. It's always about priority. If the appointment is important, be there early. If the job is important, get it done early. Do the one that matter first.


12:41am now, and I'm still typing a post for "yesterday". I should really start to change my lifestyle and set my priority straight. Or I will never have enough time to do what I like to do and be good at it because I mismanaged my time.

Photos courtesy of @txcowboy54

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency