Some familiar taste

Chinese Halloween had past, and pretty soon it's going to be mid autumn festival. One of the significant of the mid autumn festival will be Chinese Lantern and also mooncake. It's a sort of pastry with lotus paste filling. As usualy, we will only cover the food part. LOL

image.png

I was a little too late. Usually, cheap mooncake will only appear the month before the actual festival, because the longer someone keep the mooncake, the pastry become dry and harden. Therefore the nearer to the date, the more expensive those mooncake get.

image.png

I'm not that particular on the traditional nor the culture nor the festival. I'm more of a food fanatic, so I won't really care if it's a month before, or the day after. Mark my word, if those mooncake didn't sell after the festival, they will go with slash price, otherwise they're going to have to keep those until next year. Regardless, this is not a good time to buy them, the only one I got is not the traditional mooncake, I will show it later in this post.

image.png

I really appreciate Hero Supermarket that give client free boxes, and I can use the this box cover as a tray. I bougth some pastry fo the family, and the mooncake if you can see it, it's hiding in the box.

image.png

I got myself a packet of rice noodle in curry sauce, with few pieces of bean curd. Part of the reason I like this is, the flat rice noodle is really soft and easy to go down. Curry taste is not too strong and it helps to stimulate appetite. I've got the cook to put some spring onions and sesame seeds on it, needless to say it's marvelously tasty.

image.png

Later, the kid said she's making me a bowl of Korean style cheese noodle. I tried that before with my noodle soup, throw a slice of cheese whilst the soup is boiling. But, never in my life to try something like this. I must say, it tasted so much better than it looks though. Not to discourage, but I think it's about time to cook together with the kids rather than let them take things in their own hand.

image.png

Also got this sticky steamed rice home minister bought from her friend. Home made, so much stuff in it, all the good stuff. The only thing to improve is, time to make it more commercial. It's just too nice, too many expensive stuff in it, I know it's worth it, but it's just not the taste we used to.

image.png

And here's the mooncake I referred to. This is not the usual mooncake I will buy, they call this Shanghai Mooncake. The pastry skin is like apple crumple, but with lotus paste and duck egg yolk in it. Sounded wicked? Let's see below:

image.png

Although it sounded so wrong, but trust me, it's just like sea saled chocolate. Let's pretend this is a piece of Chinese Chocolate, adding the salted egg yolk would mean giving the sweetness a little bit of savory. So, yes this is a crazily eventful day with bunch of different food going around.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency