Along with the Guards

Along with the Guards.png

In a tiny town, way back home in our province, I commend everyone who sacrifices for the safety of the consumers and the community.

Untitled design (2).png

The pandemic has awakened the meticulous side of people. It made us more health-conscious, to our surroundings and even to what lies behind.

Today marks the day that I am patiently waiting for my turn inside a bank to pay for my tuition. And after this, I am proud to say that this little dreamer is now officially a senior taking up Bachelor of Science in Nursing.

Guards, I must say, are people whose jobs are crucial in society. Guards take care of people, the establishments; they play a significant role in assuring people that they don't need to be wary when they enter or do any transactions, whether in private or public places. As I sat in a single chair in the corner of our local bank, I sat beside the guards whose busy counting health declaration forms. When the clock strikes 3:00 in the afternoon, everyone gathers the chairs outside and cleans places-sterilization.

Along with the guards, I asked how many hours they have to stay standing in a day. He told me, "Sangapulo nga oras" it's an Ilocano phrase saying they stood up 10 hours in a day. The bank is about to close, and I'm the only one up the mezzanine, waiting for my transaction to be done. Recently I saw him standing and happily welcoming me. Now, he sat on the corner of the stairs, busy the second hand of his analog watch. My heart swells, and I wanted to tell everyone that today, August 13th, is Friday. I am along with the guards. Their sacrifices are commendable.

After the transaction, I went out of the establishment, muttered a small thank, and smiled; my eyes would do.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now