51/365 : Beet

Hello Creative people,

Welcome to 365 Draw A Day Drawing Challenge. A drawing challenge that aims to enjoin participants to create on a regular basis and thus help improve their skills. Today, my drawing is

51.png

Beet Root

I almost missed the fifth vegetable for this challenge whew. Anyway here it is. I do not see this root vegetable often from where I live and I still have not tried to cook anything with it. I am not sure if we are already growing this locally but I just love the color of it. So rich and deep. This drawing of a beet root completes the 5 Days Of Drawing Vegetables and I am happy I was able to finish all drawings and did not miss any. Thank you to @shookt for starting this kind of challenge. Hope to see more in the future.

Here is how I made my drawing
image.png
I used this darker shade of the beet root color. This is the shape that I made with some cuts all around it. I was thinking about the carrot entry I made previously and that drawing has the said cuts and they look appropriate and nice. I am not sure thought if I can make them work with a beet root.
image.png
I do not think that I like the darker shade of the beet and so I lighten it a bit and got this shade. So far I am satisfied with the color choice I made. Then I started adding what looks like a branch but this will become the veins of the leaf later on. I tilted the image to its left to give it some interesting angle. I removed the cuts and went for a more spherical shape because the previous one does not give me that beet vibe. I also started adding a background color because the beet root color looks kind of tricky to work with in my opinion.
image.png
The shape of the beet root now done and settled it is about time that I add at least three pieces of the veiny parts and attached them accordingly to the beet root. Here I am working on the green leaves and made each one differ in shade to give it some depth as always.
image.png
Now see for yourself. I think I like the outcome and I am already seeing a beet root. Yay, That made me happy and now I am ready to add some texture and shadows to make it work.
image.png
I think this looks lovely and I am so loving it. The final touch would be the background. I chose a darker background for the beet root to come alive. Dabbed around some dark shades to give it some shadows. Hope you like it.

This challenge as you can tell requires a ton of commitment as it literally involves creating one drawing for a whole year. Never fret if you miss a day or two just try to catch up or start on a day that you can. What matters most is you have fun with no pressure creating.

If you want to participate in this challenge here are some guidelines:

  • You may use the drawing prompt provided on a given day or make your own
  • As an alternative, you may recreate the drawing I posted on a given day like a DTIYS challenge if you wish
  • Add the countdown on your title like 00/365 if you desire
  • Use the hashtag: drawaday
  • Make your post or cross post on the Draw A Day Community

Draw A Day Community is the place where you can showcase your drawings for everyone to appreciate. There are several challenges that you can participate in or start your own like :

  • 5 Days Of Drawing
  • Pinky And Spiky Drawing Challenge
  • Doodle Magic Drawing Challenge
    There are other challenges available hosted by the members and if you want to start your own challenge here please do so.

Have fun creating.

365 draw a day challenge.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center