Gardening - First Butternut harvested. Will I get more?

Hello everyone! Zak Ludick here from Cape Town, South Africa!

We had a bit of rain for which my garden and I are very thankful! A you can see the herb garden is doing well! Though I shall expand a bit as I SEEM to have enough basil to feed the family's needs with the way that @clairemobey cooks! haha!

Let's look at pictures!


The Butternut is still growing all over the place, though no new viable fruits yet. I hope to figure it out soon!


This leg is super long and now I can weave it into the trellis.


This side is also super long and needs to be hung up.


My basil plants need to be pruned again, especially the flowering shoots.


Look at the back ones. So many shoots! These are edible when soft and can be added to food.


There in the middle... is that carrot? Who can identify it? I planted carrot seeds here.


There we go. All strung up. Now the leaves will rotate. Give them time and water!


Another view of the newly strung up leaves.


I then weaved this other leg into the fence a bit more.


It was time to harvest this Butternut. Based on descriptors online, it is ready. I did the check with the nail of my finger and it was hard, no dents even. It will still take up to 3 weeks after picked to ripen. That's some serious shelf life!


I compared it with a store bought butternut. Its a bit longer and a bit skinnier. Should still be butternut!

Thank you for reading this post! I have a lot of work to do in this garden. Hopefully I shall be able to make some time for it this coming weekend!

See you all soon again!

Cheers!
@zakludick

Hive South Africa

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency