Foraging on a sublime and beautiful Sunday

IMG_7303.jpg

Foraging days are happy days!
@fotostef had a brilliant idea this morning! Not to work and go for a walk at the mountain. And it was the best thing we could do this weather-weird morning.

The place we went, is where the people of our village have their vineyards. It is pretty obvious that once upon a time they also had gardens here and many fruit trees, now most of them are abandoned, so a great opportunity for some foraging for us and crazy running for our canine companion :)


Isn't it the happiest tree? So beautiful colors, and believe me, super tasty fruits!

IMG_7280.jpg

They are called "bourneles" here and I am not sure but I think in English they are called wild plums. They can be red or yellow. Either way they are delicious!

IMG_7299.jpg

Excuse my excitement, I couldn't stop taking photos of these photogenic fruits :)

The next 20 days (or maybe more!) we are going to taste them as much as possible. Rich in vitamins A and C, antioxidants and great for arthritis and boosting the immune system.

IMG_7292.jpg


Next stop: abandoned vineyards. The first grapes have been already formed!

IMG_7309.jpg

The harvest of the fresh leaves was rich and our lunch was great!

And it looks like an abundant year for grapes as well.


Wild fennel at its last days, but enough for cooking.

IMG_7400.jpg


Someone got thirsty and luckily at the end of the route there is a spring. It is a beautiful place with clear energy. I always feel at home when I am close to plane trees. The sound of their leaves moving by the fresh air is one of my favorite sounds since I was a child.

Markos got excited :)

IMG_7361.jpg

IMG_7359.jpg

We were not alone there...

IMG_7370.jpg


You think that life is easy when you are a dog...

IMG_7374.jpg

Well, sometimes you have to model even on your day off.

IMG_7378.jpg


This is also the time for caper to harvest. I will make them pickled, ideal for salads, but also for a taste of summer when the winter will come again. Most of the caper jars go to friends that live in the big cities or abroad, it is a way to help them travel gastronomically. These days I am thinking of organizing a small production and maybe sell it as well. It is one of the many plans!

IMG_7415.jpg

IMG_7416.jpg


Here we are! Our little humble basket full of goodies.
Foraging makes my heart sing. I think it is a need rooted deep inside humanity, and even though these days it is not necessarily a need, it surely gives a great joy and a sense of fulfillment.


Driving in these dirty roads can be very confusing as they keep getting divided and you can be easily lost. Of course we took the wrong turn at a point, it is almost impossible not to :)

But the view on our way back was more than rewarding!

IMG_7428.jpg

IMG_7431.jpg


Always grateful to Mother Earth!
This is my contribution to #SublimeSunday by @c0ff33a , as well as the #beautifulsunday by @ace108.

Wish you all a fruity day!


All the pictures and the words are mine.

If you would like to know more about me this is my introduction post!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency