Whoohoo! Compost Delivery Day - by Sunscape

hivegarden-prepping-1.jpg

If you're a fellow gardener, you know how exciting it can be to get a huge load of compost. It is time to prep the gardens and amend the soil before planting next month.

Our highway department collects leaves from all the homeowners every fall. They end up with enormous mountains of leaves which they continue to turn over for 2 years. Once the leaf mulch has broken down, the town residents can pick up what they need or have a truckload delivered for $50.

hivegarden-prepping-2.jpg

I had them deliver 7 yards of leaf compost. It will take some time for my husband and I to spread it around the gardens. Last year we purchased a compost from the local garden center. It ended up costing a considerable amount of money. I am so happy to be able to get so much mulch for just a delivery fee.

hivegarden-prepping-3.jpg

The mulch was still steaming when the truck dumped it onto the driveway.

hivegarden-mulch-1.jpg

We have had three days of rain since it was delivered and have not been able to spread any of it yet.

hivegarden-mulch2.jpg

It looks nutrient-rich and I know the plants will benefit from having some of it worked into the soil. Once I have the young plants all planted I can use the mulch to topdress the beds.

hivegarden-eggplant.jpg

The eggplant is growing very well and the stems are sturdy. By the time I plant them in May, they will have had a huge start for the season.

hivegarden-tomato.jpg

I started some tomato seeds early to enjoy some slicing ones in early summer. They are growing quickly now that I potted them into 4" pots.

hivegarden-1.jpg

All the seedlings I put up into larger cell packs have settled in just fine. They are all putting out the second and third sets of leaves.

hivegarden-lettuce.jpg

Lastly, the hydroponic lettuce is bolting so I will be harvesting the rest of it today. I have younger seedlings that I started for round two. Later this week I will get them started in a fresh solution.

I have my brother and his wife staying with us for the weekend. They drove up from Virginia to visit family here. It was the perfect time for them to come with all the rain. So sitting around visiting and catching up has been nice.

Have a great weekend and enjoy the Solar Eclipse. Did you get your glasses yet? I did!

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now