Vegetable Growth in Two Weeks, Wow! - by Sunscape

hivegarden-vegetables-cabbage.jpg

The #raisedgarden bed is out of control! Not only have they doubled in size or perhaps tripled in the past two weeks, but I harvested a mid-sized head of broccoli.

hivegarden-vegetables-6-5-12.jpg

This is the raised bed of cold-weather crops and I took this picture on May 12th.

hivegarden-vegetables-6 5-20.jpg

Eight days later, I fertilized the plants and put the insect netting back on to keep the cabbage moths and beetles out.

hivegarden-vegetables- 9 - 5-29.jpg

As you can see on May 29th this onions and cabbage plants are more than doubled in size. I can even see beets forming on the few that I put in.

hivegarden-vegetables-9 - 6-25 cabbage.jpg

Here is a close-up of the Chinese cabbage that is getting very large. Soon I will be cutting one down to make some Kimchi. I love fermented cabbage of any kind and am excited to have grown my own.

Once the cabbage is harvested I will plant more beets in those empty spots. I will be making my favorite spiced beets again this year.

hivegarden-vegetables-7 5-12.jpg

The Roma tomatoes in this photo were taken on May 12th shortly after being planted. I inter-planted some Yellow Monster Peppers with them. They tend to get tall and bend over with the heavy peppers, I can tie them up to the panel for support this year.

hivegarden-vegetables- 7- 6-5.jpg

Here they are on June 5th from the opposite side of the panel. You can see that they are filling in nicely and are already about 1 1/2' tall. Some of them are already setting the first set of flowers.

The garlic in the foreground started turning brown and I cut out some of the scapes to make pesto this week.

hivegarden-vegetables- 8 5 -25.jpg

In this bed, I planted Orange and Yellow Bell peppers with bunching onions. I took this photo on May 25th after stringing some twine to help give them support when they get taller.

hivegarden-vegetables-7.jpg

Here is a close-up on June 6th and these peppers are already setting fruit.

hivegarden-veggies-4.jpg

The honeybees landed all over the pepper plants after I fertilized them with fish emulsion. I found it interesting that they would like it but they certainly were lapping it up.

hivegarden-vegetables-zucchini-1.jpg

I put a zucchini plant with a few marigolds in a large container. I am hoping that it will keep them from vine borers this year.

hivegarden-vegetables-zucchini.jpg

I can already see tiny squash forming on the plant. I have one other large container and I think I will plant some seeds in that one as well.

hivegarden-vegetables- 8 -5 -24.jpg

I put a few slicing-type tomatoes into cages and already they are over two feet tall and setting fruit.

hivegarden-vegetables- 8 - 6-5.jpg

I have four of them planted against the house and the eggplant is in front of them. They stalled big time since being planted but I know they will start to grow now that the weather is staying warmer.

hivegarden-vegetables-2.jpg

Some of the Swiss Chard plants came back from last season and I did pick them for dinner. I just love the bright colors of the rainbow mix.

This will end the post for today as I need to get out and harvest some of the garlic before it rains. Happy gardening to all my friends, may you have an abundant harvest this year.


Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center