Tomato Harvest Preservation - by Sunscape

hive-garden-tomatoes-.jpg

When your garden vegetables just keep on giving a bountiful harvest, what does one do? Well, the past two weeks I have been so busy canning practically every day.

The tomato plants are loaded with ripening fruit so I have been picking and letting them fully ripen on the kitchen counter.

hive-garden-tomatoes-5.jpg

To prepare them for my sauces, I core them and cut them in half. I remove the seeds and place them with the skin side facing up on a large cookie sheet.

I will then roast them in the oven at 425° F. for about 20 minutes or until the skins are puckering. After letting them cool down the skins will separate easily from the tomato.

hive-garden-tomatoes-6.jpg

The next step is to saute some onion, garlic, and peppers, all chopped of course. Then I add the tomato pulp to the sauteed mixture and cook them down until they thicken up a bit. I do mash them a bit as they are cooking so the tomatoes become smaller pieces. I guess you could chop them beforehand, but I find mashing them works well for me.

As they cook, I add in some kosher salt, pepper, oregano, thyme, and basil for flavoring the sauce.

hive-garden-tomatoes-cooking.jpg

As the tomato sauce cooks down, I prepare the pint jars for the canning process. The jars have to be sterile and hot before jarring the mixture. Then to each jar, 1 tablespoon of lemon juice is added and filled with the sauce leaving one inch of head space.

Debubble any air from the jars by running a chopstick, which I use, down through the sauce. Wipe the rims of the jar with a cloth and vinegar to make sure the lids will seal correctly. Add the lids and rings to each jar being sure not to over-tighten the rings.

After processing the tomatoes in a water bath canner for 35 minutes the chunky sauce is preserved for future use.

hive-garden-tomatoes-pizza-sauce.jpg

I will be using this round of sauce for the pizzas I will be making over the winter months. I even cheated and had to make one since I just could not resist the wonderful aroma coming from the sauce as it was cooking.

pizza-2.jpg

I have to admit the pizza was awesome and I know that my family will be enjoying more pizzas to come. That is what is so wonderful about preserving one's garden harvest for future use. I still have much to do and will be sharing more posts about how I am preserving the bounty from this year's garden.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now