Processing Veggies All Week - by Sunscape

hivegarden-harvesting-garlic-2.jpg

It's mid-July and already the garden is bursting with produce. I pulled some of the garlic this week and have it in the greenhouse drying on the racks.

hivegarden-harvesting-red-cabbage-1.jpg

One of the red cabbage was large enough to pick.

hivegarden-harvesting-red-cabbage-.jpg

I decided to make spicy slaw with this one.

hivegarden-canning-cabbage.jpg

hivegarden-harvesting-red-cabbage-7.jpg

This is the first time making it and I hope I will like it. I will let it set for a couple of weeks before trying it. I have four more cabbages that will be ready in August.

hivegarden-harvesting-cauliflower-.jpg

The first cauliflower was ready so I will be fixing that for dinner tonight.

hivegarden-harvesting-onions-2 (1).jpg

All the red onion bulbs needed trimming, I topped them all....

hivegarden-harvesting-onion-dehydrating-1.jpg

I had a huge pile on the counter to chop up.

hivegarden-harvesting-onion-dehydrating-2.jpg

Next, into the dehydrator to dry.

hivegarden-harvesting-onion-dehydrating-4.jpg

hivegarden-harvesting-onion-dehydrating-5.jpg

I ended up with two large baking trays of dried leaves.

hivegarden-harvesting-onion-dehydrating-7.jpg

hivegarden-onion.jpg

I ended up with two quart jars of onion powder for the pantry.

hivegarden-harvesting-string-beans-1.jpg

Every day I have been picking the bush beans which have been producing wonderfully in the tower gardens.

garden tower.jpg

I save them up for two days and then I canned them for the pantry shelves.

hivegarden-harvesting-beans-.jpg

So far I have 6 jars and the plants are still going strong. I am hoping to have a dozen jars from these two towers.

hivegarden-harvesting-string-beans-2.jpg

beets.jpg

The first small round of beets were ready. We enjoyed the greens wilted with onion, garlic, and red wine vinegar for dinner one night.

I ended up making spicy pickled beets and got three pints on the shelf. I will be planting a large crop for fall harvesting once all the onions have been pulled.

beets (1).jpg

It was a good week for harvesting and processing some of the veggies. I will be very busy once the cabbages are ready this week. Happy gardening my friends.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments