Month Two of Hydroponic and Tower Garden Lettuce - by Sunscape

hive-garden-greenhouse-hydroponic.jpg

The Buttercrunch Lettuce I have been growing for 2 months using the Kratky Method of hydroponics has astounded me. I could not be any happier with the results. As you can see here the lettuce is nice and full. It would be even more so except I keep picking off the largest leaves to eat, ;-)

Week One


hydroponics-lettuce-sustainable-1.jpg

I posted this photo when I first planted the lettuce in the greenhouse back in late February. I was concerned that they would not make it without any nighttime heat. Yet, here they are in mid-April and they are doing very well.

hive-garden-greenhouse-hydroponic-1.jpg

Potted Buttercrunch


I also planted a few seedlings into a hanging pot which did extremely well. Now, that the weather is nice I have it hanging by my back porch.

hive-garden-greenhouse-1.jpg

lettuce (1).jpg

Now I can pick fresh, organic lettuce right outside my kitchen door. How fun is that?

Tower Gardens


lettuce-towers.jpg

The tower gardens have also been moved outside as the lettuce was wilting badly due to the greenhouse getting so hot during the day. It can quickly get to 90° F inside when the sun hits it and lettuce being a cool season crop had to be moved. They will do well on the North side of my house. I had better start eating a lot more lettuce as they are growing so fast that I can hardly keep up.

Cilantro Tower Garden


seedlings-cilantro.jpg

This tower was sown with Cilantro and Parsley. They took some time to germinate in the cold greenhouse but after about two weeks they did, just when I was about to reseed it, there they were.

garden-towers.jpg

The tower was placed on the Northwest side of the porch which gets mainly the afternoon sun. I did sow the seeds rather thickly and am wondering if I should thin them out a bit. Let me know if you have any thoughts on that? I am not sure if it would matter or not to do so. But it should be done soon if it is.

Hanging Baskets


cabbage-gardening.jpg

Now, you may think I am crazy but I am going to try growing some red cabbage and cauliflower in hanging baskets. This is a very unconventional way of growing them but I am very limited on space so I thought why not. I will do my best to keep you all updated on my success, and yes, I do believe it will work out well.

Thank you for stopping by my post today and may all your gardening efforts bring you a wonderful harvest.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center