Garden Harvesting Has Begun - by Sunscape

cabbage-.jpg

The veggies are filling in so quickly and it was time to start enjoying some of my labors. I am thrilled that the beet greens are looking so full and practically unscathed by insects. My husband was helping me to tie up the tomato plants and he smiled and said beet greens for dinner?

Well, that was all we needed so I began to thin out the larger leaves giving room for the others to mature. I have to say that they were sooooooooooooooo goooooooooooood! Sauteed with a little onion, garlic scapes, red wine vinegar, salt, and pepper, oh my, delicioso!

garden-greens.jpg

The garlic scapes were all emerging from the garlic I planted in November so they needed to be picked. I am going to make a little bit of pesto with them this weekend.

garden-garlic-.jpg

I planted white globe radishes this spring and they were ready to harvest as well. This was the first year I have tried this variety and I was pleased with the results. Only a couple of them had brown spots on them due to insect damage. I think they did so well because I planted the seed so early in April.

I was not sure what to do with the radish greens so I did a search and who knew you could eat them just like spinach or beet greens. Needless to say, they ended up being sauteed too. I have to admit they were delicious to my surprise.

garden-radish.jpg

Look at the size of the Chinese cabbage. I harvested 5 large heads and started chopping and soaking them in salt brine to make jars of Kimchi.

cabbage-2.jpg

You can see a little bit of flowering starting on this one. It was time to pick them all with the warm weather we have been having they were going to go to seed.

cabbage-1.jpg

Radish, carrot, and cabbage ready for sea salt brine. This will stay in the brine for 24 hours to soften the thick parts of the cabbage.

cabbage-3 (1).jpg

The next afternoon I prepared the rest of the ingredients and put the cabbage into jars. They will sit on the counter for another 24 hours before placing them into the refrigerator to continue fermenting.

kimci-fermented-cabbage.jpg

The tomato plants were all tied up and trimmed of many offshoots that had started. I like to keep my plants to one main stem for better airflow and larger fruit. The flowers are already set on some of them which are wonderful to see.

garden-tomato.jpg

For some reason the peas had a bit of a slow start this spring. Perhaps I planted them too early, I am not sure, but they have finally started climbing up the panels and flowers are emerging on the too. I was not sure if they would make it as they took forever to take off.

garden-peas.jpg

Last but not least, I had to replant my pole bean seeds as the first round of beans never came up. I have no idea why they did not but I am hoping that after two days of rain this week they sprout. I will update you on their progress soon. I really want to can some dilly beans this year just like the ones I remember my grandmother making when I was a young girl.

That is it for this week's garden update and I hope your gardens are doing well.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments