Starting a garden Post #13

sunflower_1

Welcome to my Starting a garden blog post #13 ๐ŸŒป As my loyal followers know I always start my post with a flower ๐Ÿ™‚

sunflower_2

The sunflowers continue to thrive. I think I would be happy if all I had in my garden was sunflowers ๐Ÿ˜Š We planted these from seeds we saved from a wild sunflower.

jack

" Once upon a time there lived a poor widow and her son Jack. One day, Jackโ€™s mother told him to sell their only cow. Jack went to the market and on the way he met a man who wanted to buy his cow. Jack asked, โ€œWhat will you give me in return for my cow?โ€ The man answered, โ€œI will give you five magic beans!โ€ Jack took the magic beans and gave the man the cow. But when he reached home, Jackโ€™s mother was very angry. She said, โ€œYou fool! He took away your cow and gave you some beans!โ€ She threw the beans out of the window. Jack was very sad and went to sleep without dinner.
The next day, when Jack woke up in the morning and looked out of the window, he saw that a huge beanstalk had grown from his magic beans!"
https://americanliterature.com/childrens-stories/jack-and-the-beanstalk
I think the story would've been more fun with sunflowers ๐Ÿคฃ

Back to the garden...

garden_sideview

Its very green in Vermont this time of year. Some warm sunny days.

june_14_2022_am

Some cool cloudy days.

june_15_2022_pm

Everything is growing very quickly. Its exciting to check the garden each morning.

deer_snack

Unfortunately a deer is also checking out everything that isn't inside the fence. This sunflower is growing back after a deer ate all the leaves. Life will find a way ๐ŸŒฟ

bean_blossom

Lots of blossoms but nothing to harvest for awhile. These are green beans.

squash

Butternut squash is blooming too. For next week, I will try to get some shots of the small cucumbers, squash, zucchini, and pumpkins that the plants are starting to put on.

raspberry_2

East Hill Tree Farm suggested these black raspberries. East Hill specializes in northern, hardy plants that are locally grown on their farm. They love the black raspberries because they native and thrive in Vermont. This is our first spring on this property.

wild_black_raspberry

I found these wild black raspberries on the edge of the forest on our property Our new plants are about 8 inches high. This wild plant is probably 4 feet high already ๐Ÿ˜Š

That's it for the garden update this week. I am trying to keep each week original and a lot of gardening right now is waiting. Fun for me to watch but not terribly interesting to see the same plant over and over for you. I'll keep trying to have an original theme for each week. Thanks for visiting my post. See you next week โ˜ฎ๏ธ

Bonus pics

milkweed

Milk weed is starting to bloom. We have been watching for milkweed closely and want to make sure and get some started somewhere around our yard. Monarch butterflies love milkweed. Unfortunately this milkweed plant is not in our yard ๐Ÿ™

wildrose

Wild roses also attract pollinators. These wild roses are along the creek on the edge of our yard ๐Ÿ‘

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency