A Very Herby Garden Journal Early November

Despite the endless rain, or of course because of it, the garden is going jungle! Because it's too wet to go out in it, when I do, I'm kinda caught by suprise with how much things have grown. I'm perpetually figuring out what to do with insects and weeds, if anything at all. And rabbits. Endless rabbits.

What’s the difference between a healthy rabbit and an odd rabbit?
One is a fit bunny, and the other’s a bit funny.

This #gardenjournal post also celebrate the revival of The Herbal Hive by @artemislives. Think of The Herbal Hive and Hive Garden as sister communities - both plant focussed and keen to support content of that kind. You can support the conversation about herbs and the spreading of herbal wisdom by subscribing to the community and reblogging the challenges (check out @theherbalhive) and even writing a post of your own. And of course, don't forget this first week of November is the official garden journal challenge - quick, rush over to the community to find out more!

Firstly, lovely, feminine, moon wise lemon balm. It's lovely in iced tea in the summer, or in custard, but generally is a beautiful calming herb. The oil is good for herpes too. Simply infuse in olive oil and add a few drops of essential oil for good measure and some beeswax to create a balm - appropriate, being 'melissa"...🐝🐝

IMG20221102163830.jpg

Nestled next to that is elecampane, good for lung health.

Then theres horseradish. I use the root in firecider but also the young leaves finely chopped in salads. Whilst the first year it struggled, now it seems to be everywhere in the garden, reminding me of the wild horseradish on the edge of English meadows. Can you see the oregano beyond it? It's self seeded everywhere and is a treasure for bees too. And thyme beyond that.

Mugwort, dear mugwort. I need to plant another outside the chicken run as they love her too. Dreamer, seer. No other plant speaks to me so in the garden!

Calendula, of course - all year round, but especially in wetter months. Sunny and bright and always on every meal I make. Soothing, antiinflammatory.

IMG20221031153309.jpg

Sage - in apple cider vinegar for sore throats in the winter, or for tea, and crispy on risotto. I've developed a new love affair with dear sage.

IMG20221031145112.jpg

On dear, the rust on the garlic has upset me. They say it happens if it gets overwatered or too high nitrogen but in fifteen years I've never had such a disaster. The rhubarb beyond, however, has loved the feed of cow manure, and the raspberries are happy too - I spent yesterday trying to protect them from the blackbirds.

IMG20221031145151.jpg

Mullein! It's the tincture that seems to help my lungs, not the tea. We're all different when it comes to the intake of herbs. I love their huge rosettes before they send off a massive spike.

IMG20221031145130.jpg

Heartease, surrounded by chook wire under the mulberry because - rabbits. Grrrrrr.

What do you call two rabbits racing down the road?
The fast and the furriest.

IMG20221031145124.jpg

Then there's the lemons and limes, the curry leaf plant, the tomatoes doing their thing (yes, @ligayagardener, I pricked out those side and lower shoots and tied them up today, good girl me), the struggling broad beans (this time of year I should have big fat beans! What is going on, weather?), beetroot about to be harvested. There's kinda a lot going on but also NOT, because, bugs and rabbits and weather, you know?

What do you call a cold dog sitting on a rabbit?
A chili dog on a bun.

IMG20221102163923.jpg

Tell you what IS delightful - irises! I always forgot what colour is where so it's cool when they appear. The one below got blown over int the wind before it bloomed but I brought it inside and it obliged me by unfolding in cream and yellow glory. I just love them.

IMG20221031122006.jpg

IMG20221102163912.jpg

Like always, I could do more than one #gardenjournal post with all the things I could share. There's always so much to do, even right now as I wolf down a coffee and finish this post before going out and weeding a path. The council has dumped a huge pile of pine mulch by the trees in the reserve which is absolutely perfect for said paths but it's been far too wet to collect!

Can't wait to read your garden posts - I always enjoy them and feel proud to be part of this lovely community on Hive.

And one more for the road?

What do you get if you cross a rabbit with an insect?
Bugs Bunny.

That's all folks!

With Love,

image.png

Footer Copy (1).png
The Fungi Lovers Community: Home of #FungiFriday

My Post.jpg



The Herbal Hive Community

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center