Schizobasis intricata

This plant is a new one to my collection. I have only had mine for a couple years at most. Right away, you can see that this plant is very similar in appearance to Bowiea. They have a similar bulb but grow a slightly different looking vine. Also, similar to the Bowiea, the Schizobasis intricata originates from south-east Africa.

I have found that this plant tends to produce multiple vines at once. They also seem to like drooping instead of climbing. At first the plant tries to grow upright. After some more growth, however, the vines start drooping. The end of each branch will produce tiny flowers.
Once I found out about this plant, it quickly became one I had to have. The Bowiea has always been one of my favorite plants. To know there was something similar made me desire one for the collection. Like Bowiea, the care is pretty simple. Plant in a well-draining cactus substrate. I lightly water once the pot is dry. This plant can sometimes be a bit needier than Bowiea when it comes to water though. The bulb may shrivel when in need of more water. Besides this, I treat mine exactly the same as Bowiea.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now