The First of Many {Squash and More for the June Garden Update}

Garden Journal June 2023.png

As is often the case here in the Southern USA, June marks the start of summer. Even if it's not officially summer by the calendar, the switch has been flipped and it seems like overnight we went from pleasant spring temps to steamy summer heat. While I don't love starting to sweat instantly upon opening the door, I can't say I'm mad about the abundance that the consistently warm weather brings.

This week was an absolute beast from the work side of things--short holiday weeks don't always equal easy ones! I didn't get much time in the garden, but it was a saving grace for a few moments of peace and solitude when I could get them. Even if I just go out for a quick peek at how things are coming along it is often enough to reduce my stress levels by a bit or help me get my mind right to continue on with the next task. I try to make sure I never take the blessing of having space to grow for granted!

I often joke that if we can't grow anything else, we can grow squash. This season is once again proving that to be true. While we are still getting some nice handfuls of snow peas while they last, the next in line to start producing has been my golden zucchini and the first of the adorable (and delicious) patty pan varieties!

IMG_20230603_074717669_HDR.jpg

I plucked this nice little haul just this morning before hitting the farmers market to go along with the other golden zucchini I pulled off the other day. We will most happily enjoy these first fruits ourselves, but I so look forward to having enough to share with others! There's a sense of pride and accomplishment in being able to grow enough to give out to friends and family who will enjoy them just as much. I know a few more people who are trying there hand at gardening this year, so perhaps some swaps will be made, too!

IMG_20230601_164521038_HDR.jpg

I have seven plants of the summer squashes--three of the zucchini and four of the smaller patty pan. Plenty to keep us happy for quite some time. I've started pruning out some of the leaves to keep the plants producing fruit and also help with air circulation, pollination and limiting overlap to help with any mildewing of the leaves. The raised beds seem to work particularly well here.


IMG_20230601_164423048.jpg

Still on the squash side of things, I see Candy Roasters slowly pushing out of the vine! I didn't get any of these last year, so I will be ecstatic to have a nice harvest this year from the three plants that we have growing. Last year it was all about the butternuts, so perhaps this year will be the year of the Candy Rosters. Again, wonderful to have ourselves, but despite being native to this part of the country, you don't see them often at the markets nor definitely in the stores. Which means it's another fun variety to get to share. Though being a hardier species, they last well like the butternuts, pumpkins and other orange-fleshed squashes.


IMG_20230525_073756744.jpg

I'm also getting excited for my first experience growing corn. I believe I mentioned last time I'm trying a small heirloom variety just to try it out. The first plant that popped up from the ground looks to be growing ears already, and the others are also coming along nicely. Whatever the outcome, I've loved getting to watch close up as the plant continues to grow and change. Corn is a summer staple here, so it's neat to have it in our garden for a change.


IMG_20230603_074045040.jpg

Another first is the elderberry bush. @dksart's mother had gotten us this plant, and despite looking a little worse for the wear in some of the leaves I just noticed the first few bunches of elderflowers! I think we'll definitely get a few more of these to plant, especially since he just cut down some dying ornamental bushes in the front.


IMG_20230601_164444655_HDR.jpg

On the less abundant side, we're still having some trouble getting cucumbers going. The darn bugs just find the seedlings so tasty! We're using Epsom salt around the base to try to deter them, though as soon as it rains it's all bets off. We're hoping that we get at least a few plants to survive to the harvesting stage. I have hope that the warmer weather will spur faster growth, helping the plants get to the stage where a few nibbles won't mean total disaster.


Tomatoes June 23.jpg

As far as the tomatoes go, it's a jungle out there! Between the seedlings I actually planted and the slew of volunteer plants--we're full! I tried thinning some of the plants out, but at this point I'm letting whatever is in there grow and we'll see how our harvest turns out.

Many already have their first blossoms popping out, so I have started pruning the bottom leaves and I've supported most with our tried and true homemade support system. @dksart cobbled together trellises with poles and branches from the pruned Crape Myrtle while I have found I like to string them up with twine. Then as they grow, I just slowly pull up the slack to keep them supported. Not as fancy as the tomato cages, but it works and it's cheap!

IMG_20230603_082829501.jpg

This morning we noticed the bunny in the backyard gathering dead grass in her mouth. I automatically assumed nest, but didn't realize until we went outside that nest was in one of the tomato beds! Luckily she had just started, so we're hoping a little spray of pepper and peppermint oil will have her seeking a more suitable place to make her own "bed" away from ours. I'd love to see some little baby bunnies, but not at the expense of my plants. 😂


IMG_20230527_163506500.jpg

Otherwise, most of the herbs are still thriving, with the basil and dill plants finally getting big enough to start harvesting soon. I've been slaking my thirst with an herbal water concoction of lemon balm, mint and the new addition of my bronze fennel fronds. The fennel had been growing much faster than we could use it otherwise, so I thought I'd see how the fronds tasted in the water mixture. Delicious! It adds another layer to the tried and true mint combo.

My sole pepper plant seems to be doing well in its pot, too, and our plum trees continue to grow. The figs are probably not going to produce this year after the beetle attack, but at least we do have new growth coming up from the base giving me hope for future years!

The greenhouse most certainly feels like a sauna now, so that may be its only use besides for storage until the autumn! Thank you as always to @riverflows and the rest of the #gardenhive crew for keeping the fun going. Don't miss out on sharing your own Garden Journal this month!

With that...let me go peruse some other gardens...at least virtually!





Banners by @riverflows, @woman-onthe-wing and @dksart

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency