Managing The Potted Tulips In Spring

2.jpg

Hello Hivers!

Do you love these boldly coloured cup-shaped flowers? I do!... I have been planting tulip bulbs every Fall together with other flowers. Since I only have a balcony now, which is small with 16 sqm, I can only plant in pots. Planting the tulips in this small pot was simply experimental...I do not know how the bulbs would react to a small pot. But I think it was not that bad.

1.jpg

Tulips are easy to care, they can sustain the freezing temps in Winter. I planted mine in the beginning of each Fall or when the garden was no longer watered. Why plant in Fall? That is because the roots can still develop before the first frost sweeps the ground. The soil to be used has to be a well drained one because too much moist could rot the bulbs. In mid February, its leaves will start sprouting particularly if the temps are mild and will start budding by around end of March... the time to enjoy the flowers is in April.

A bit of facts on Tulips..Source

The largest tulip producer in the world is the Netherlands and tulips are one of their biggest export products.
Tulips are a part of the Liliaceae family, which also contains lilies, onions, garlic and asparagus.
Tulips can be divided into about 150 various species, but there are more than 3,000 naturally occurring and genetically cultivated varieties of the flower worldwide.
Tulips have a wide variety of meanings, with each color symbolizing something different. In general, tulips are said to symbolize love and signal spring's arrival. Red tulips represent true love, white tulips say "I'm sorry," and purple tulips symbolize royalty.


IMG_9886.jpg
Past tulips in my former garden
Image Source

IMG_6091.JPG
Favorite pink variety from another season in my former garden (Image from my private file)

9.jpg

The pack was supposed to contain 10 bulbs of mix colors..but then the ones that came out first have been the bigger bulbs with yellow/orange hues.

3.jpg

As the weather had been lousy and had not been so cooperative , I placed the tulip pot inside the flat so I could enjoy the blooms because it was still cold outside. As of this writing we only have 7°C and that is too cold for this time of the year.

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

Next time, I will search for those huge tulip bulbs in garden center this September. The ones I love most is the huge pink colored flowers pictured above.

7.jpg

The bigger the bulbs the more huge the flowers will be and I am looking forward to that when the bulbs will be available end of Summer.

8.jpg

That´s about it, have a nice day and enjoy these tulips!

I `ll see you around!

GIF by @Gremayo.gif

GIF by @gremayo

All images are owned by @mers

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center