GroVid22 & Dreemport collaborates with Hive Garden : Week 2 Challenge

img_20210405_163516.jpg
One of my favorite is eating a "healthy" meal after gardening 😂



Hi, this is me again Khoola,

Well, this week we have favorites as a theme for the #GroVid22 and @dreemport collaboration challenge with HiveGarden!

Here is a link as always: GroVid22 Challenge 2 for HiveGarden with DreemPort: Favorites


Tell us about your FAVORITE things about Gardens!


My favorite thing about gardening is looking at my wife's face as she admires the flowers and the garden. Yeah, that would be the truth... I do gardening because she loves it.

On a personal level, my favorite thing about gardens are doing experiments. One of my experiments is: can I can grow a Giant Sunflower on sand-based soil (I am living beside the sea). 🤔

Things you may not know about Sunflowers

  • The seeds when roasted pair good with beer 🤣.
  • Sunbutter if you haven't heard of it... this is an alternative to peanut butter. 🧐
  • The flower head is actually made of hundreds or thousands of flowers. src
  • Sunflower is easy to grow 😲 (though my neighbor failed 🤣)



img_20210504_110731.jpg
My wife bought this online. First thought... roasting it then buy beer 🍺.


I don't trust anything bought online, but I don't really have a choice because of Covid. A bag of Jumbo/Giant sunflower seed cost me about 2$ as far as I remember.

Started going online, researching heavily on how to grow it. After numerous research materials, I came up with this.

sunflower.jpgHow not to grow sunflowers by @khoola 😫


  1. A shallow plastic container to put my very own compost soil. I prefer a transparent one to see if the roots are out.
  2. Plant the seeds in an organized manner. Doesn't need to be, I just like it that way.
  3. Water it 🌦️
  4. Cover it with plastic to keep the moisture in. 😁


Truth be told it didn't grow after that!!! 😂


I found that just putting the seed in a wet towel does the trick. Had 20 seeds sprouting within that week of covering them. I pick the best ones and put them in a plant bag. 3/5 grew well and transfered them in front of my house! 😍


sunsun.jpgYup that is my daughter running around without her slippers. For some reason she always loses them. Grr... 😭

My Giant Sunflower experiment ended with 3 plants growing at about 4 feet each with an average of 3 full blooms. Well, although it didn't grow as big as I wish it would but atleast it grew.

I wasn't Home when the flowers seeds where harvested 😭 🍺. Guess that concludes my experiment, as sunflowers dies after full bloom 😭.

But that is not the end of my experiments. I also have a Mango tree in a relatively large "flower pot" inside my house. 🤣 I am trying to make a small tree... unsure what I am going to do if i succeed.

This is it for now! See you guys next week and thank you for reading!



👉 Click the banner to know about this month's challenge. 👇

All links go to Wikipedia.org

Else, pictures and banners in this post were taken or made by myself, ©@khoola using creative common images from Pixabay.com. In the cases when they were taken from other sources, I stated it in the sub-caption of the pictures.

Footnote: "I give my pride and dignity to @adamada and so on and so forth... may this chat serve as a witness to my conviction and it will be voided as soon as both parties agree on it be void." 😭









H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
37 Comments
Ecency