Oktober and still tomatoes?

It had been a long harvesting season and it surely was not as successful as I had expected. Due to endless rain and slugs in the spring it took me a damn long time to put the plants outside so they didn't get the amount of sun over the amount of months that I had wanted.

Regardless, I am still harvesting a good amount of tomatoes and they taste way netter than in the supermarket. They taste more as if they had been harvested right from the Italien country side, that is how sweet they are.


1000047002.jpg


It is a bit of an debate where to get the right tomatoes from. I have learned over the last couple of months that flavorwise the canned tomatoes are seriously no less than fresh tomatoes. But for some reason in the mind you still want the fresh tomatoes in the food, even if it doesnt matter at all.

So that is kind of a mindf$ck in there and I also don't know if this is someting to actually hold on to.





What I do know

What I do know, is that when you actually have the time to let the tomatoes grow in the Dutch climate, that is not something to regret.

Even though I very much dislike the Dutch climate in general, during the summer there are enough hours of sun that bring the flavour to the tomatoes. And with that...I am not sure if it is about the general temperature of about the amount of hours of sun what actually counts.


1000047000.jpg


But as you can see on the snap, there are still enough of them that seem to ripen enough in the process to harvest. Unfortunately that means it is not the end game for all of them, some will not make it untill the end before front will come dropping in.

That is okay, there was harvest enough to make the season decent in total.

1000047004.jpg

These big guys are the ones that have the most flavor in there, although my most favorite ones are definitely cherry tomatoes or better said...the smaller ones.

These big one are perfect for in every dish. But I also had a tiny plant of yellow cherry tomatoes, and these were rhe surprise of the season if you ask me.

Full of flavour (who cares if th3 skin breaks open), funny looking when serving them into a dish and also the plant was a long stronger than I had thought. It broke twice because the wind and still it feels decent looking again and even producing fruits.

I guess in the end it turned up as a better season than I had expected after the rouge start of the year.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center